Forwarding Address

August 8, 2013 at 5:57 am (Uncategorized)

Hello…

It’s been so long I hardly know how to begin. I’ve thought of writing many times since my last post – lord knows there have been inducements aplenty since I left you – but the decommissioning of DoctorDi remains for the time being unchanged.

I miss the blogging gang terribly. You know who you are. I don’t want to lose sight of any of you and hope you’ll forgive that my visits to all your blogs are still so sporadic for the time being. I’m getting there. I’ll keep coming.

For now I just wanted to leave some sort of forwarding address, I guess, since I am still doing a bit of writing online and in May was part of something wonderful at the Sydney Writers’ Festival.

I’m still doing the Monthly Feature for Varuna, the Writers’ House; the August feature is called ‘The Anatomy of Effort’. I often interview Varuna authors on their latest books, otherwise I write about some aspect of the craft and/or the writing life. The most popular feature in recent times was undoubtedly ‘Giving it Away,’ about the epidemic of unpaid writing. Please feel very welcome to call in and see me at the Varuna page any time.

And if you’re interested in live, unscripted storytelling, I co-curated and presented the Australian launch of 5×15 at the Sydney Writers’ Festival with the SWF’s new artistic director, the gorgeous Jemma Birrell. Five speakers speaking fifteen minutes apiece brought down the house, in this case Sydney Theatre. It was terribly thrilling for me personally and the response has been overwhelmingly generous (thanks to our five brilliant and diverse speakers). Thanks to the ABC, you can watch (yes, watch!) the whole thing here.

Yes, I was unbelievably nervous. And yes, you can tell.

If you’re in London and New York, do get along to 5×15, the line up is always surprising and exciting. You can check out future programs and book tickets here.

And that’s all she wrote… at least for here and now. I haven’t figured out if I’ll be coming back to DoctorDi or not, but I’m happy to report that I am reading, I am writing, I am well. And I miss you. Be happy, be healthy. I’ll come find you as often as I can.

 

15 Comments

  1. Pete said,

    Wow! I wish I had time to read those articles now and watch the 5×15 event. I will do so (later) and let you know what I think. So nice to hear from you. I’ve just read the start of “Giving it Away” and I agree completely. Such a difficult area though since if a writer is getting exposure in a magazine then they could well be willing to offer a freebie.

    • doctordi said,

      So nice to hear from you too! Thanks, Pete – I would love to know what you think. It is a difficult area, but I really believe that ‘free exposure’ is one of those Trojan horses for writers that has been flogged to death.

  2. davidrochester said,

    Thank you for the update! Reading, writing, and storytelling…all is well in the DiUniverse.

    • doctordi said,

      Thank you for stopping by, David. Yep, that’s pretty much the sum of it. Three of my favourite things are back in high rotation in my life – it’s a huge relief.

  3. Grad said,

    Like Pete, I’ll be reading the articles and watching the 5×15 event this weekend (although I might have a chance to view the event this evening). I do so very much miss your splendid blog posts You sound extremely busy and productive. And, you know Di, if you are writing it…I’ll be reading it. The selfish reader-brat that I am will maintain hope that DoctorDi will be un-decommissioned sooner rather than later. After all, I’m not getting any younger. I’ll even throw you a virtual party.

    • doctordi said,

      Oh, Graddikins – what a lovely comment. As always. You really are such a champion of my small, near invisible contributions that I wonder how on earth I got so lucky. A virtual party sounds lovely – though wouldn’t it be brilliant if we could someday orchestrate a real one? I live in hope. I still have the World Wide Wearies and I just wish that Sydney and Savannah were Siamese sisters.

  4. litlove said,

    Hurray! Knowing you’re still writing for Varuna is wonderful news. I’ll be over to visit soon. And it’s fantastic that you come visit when you can. Any time, no pressure, no worries. I’ll be there whenever you are! And I’m certainly coming to Grad’s virtual party. :)

    • doctordi said,

      Hi Litlove. I think often of our meeting in London last year – how extraordinary to think we have sat opposite each other and talked in person. I’m so glad for it. Thank you for being so relaxed about my unannounced, irregular drop-ins – I’m sure it’s very bad manners in the blogosphere but I’m afraid I really am doing the best I can! Grad’s southern hospitality is quite infectious – but it really makes me want to attend a real one, at her house. What a blast that would be!

  5. Grad said,

    LL, you’re in charge of the decorations!

    • doctordi said,

      Graddikins, how does one virtually decorate…?! Should we hang tinsel from our laptops at the appointed time? What’s the dress code?!

  6. Pete said,

    Hi Di. Lindy and I watched the 5×15 clip on Friday and we were really impressed! Jackie Kay was probably my favourite but it was interesting to put a face and a voice to Kate Mosse (and the speaker on fact-checking at The New Yorker was seriously good). Great to see you in action as well. Congrats to you for pulling off such an excellent event. :-)

  7. doctordi said,

    Ah, Pete, that is so lovely of you and Lindy – thanks so much for watching! I’m sure it’s good for the future of 5×15 Sydney if a solid number of people watch that video – so my sincere thanks to you both. Yes, they were excellent, weren’t they? I loved them all – couldn’t possibly choose a favourite, especially not when they were all sooo different. One of the real charms of the format, I think. Thank you – it was fantastic to be part of it, and seriously good fun to boot. I hope we do more.

  8. Lilian Nattel said,

    I’m so glad to hear the update. I know how busy life can get with a young child and also how blogging has its own life span. I’ve been neglecting mine too though still feeling the bond to all the fellow bloggers I’ve met! Big hugs and stay in touch here or via email.

  9. Simonne said,

    Hello Gorgeous One. I know all about the sporadic blogging life. I’m making an attempt at re-entering it after a hiatus as long as yours. It’s a weird beast, isn’t? Anyhoo, just wanted to say hi – *hi!* – and now I must check out your video!! x

  10. charlotteotter said,

    Hello from me too. I appreciate your sporadic check-ins when they happen. I too have become a rather irregular blogger, without even the polite apology that you provide. Glad to hear that all the good things are still good and that the writing is happening.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

