Funny ha ha and peculiar

November 14, 2006 at 9:24 pm (Uncategorized)

Borat: Cultural Learnings of America for Make Benefit Glorious Nation of Kazakhstan is hilarious. Hilarious. At a screening yesterday morning, on a freelance assignment, I had to wipe tears from my eyes at one point. I actually HOWLED with laughter. There were two places in the whole movie that thudded in an unfunny way for me, and one scene that is probably going to disturb my already disturbed sleep for months to come, but overall, Sacha Baron Cohen’s “documentary” as Borat is a certifiable scream.

I’m trying to figure out why it’s so funny when so much of it is so wrong. He’s outrageous. He’s offensive. He’s sexist. Racist. Ignorant. Unclean. It just shouldn’t be a laugh riot. And yet it is. It really, really is. I think Australians will love it – we have a perverse sense of humour and a long history of adoring British comedians and their subversive offerings. Kenny Everett, the Goodies, Monty Python, The Young Ones, Red Dwarf, even the obvious big-wink slapstick stupidity of Benny Hill – we have loved them all. Borat will appeal here because it seems to draw something from all the masters, whilst adding an unbelievably clever, indelible shade of the times. It’s so current it’s transcendent. It looks the extremes of political correctness in the face and it mocks them. It’s an uncomfortable time, and satire is an uncomfortable form, but Sacha Baron Cohen is absolutely in his element, and more than up to the task of skewering the age in which he finds himself. Go and see it.

2 Comments

  1. My Kids Day said,

    This is very nice and informative post. I have bookmarked your site in order to find out your post in the future.

  2. doctordi said,

    Thanks, My Kids Day, I’m glad you think so, and I hope to ‘see’ you here again!

Leave a Reply

