Did I say that…?

December 4, 2006 at 12:02 am (Uncategorized)

Last week at book club, a (caucasian) pregnant friend told us how she’d asked her (caucasian) husband “What would you do if we had a little black baby?” We all erupted in loud laughter, and she looked around the group and said, in earnest, “You hear of that happening sometimes, don’t you?” Through my by now virtually uncontrollable laughter, I managed to choke out something like “In very specific circumstances, yes!” Then she said she’d gone on to ask him if he’d want a paternity test if they did in fact have a black baby. By now we were all on the floor, exchanging variations of “Honey, should we get little Leroy tested?” and “Who do you think he looks like?” through peals and peals of laughter. What was funniest was the fact that she was completely and utterly sincere, and it made me recall a few gaffs I’ve either made or been witness to in the past. Here’s a few off the top of my head:

When we got back from Italy, and I was telling a journalist friend about Tokyo, she leaned in and said to me, in all seriousness, “Is that in Japan…?”

Surveying Nelson’s Column for the first time in Trafalgar Square, Llew looked it up and down, wrinkled his nose, and said “What’s a statue of Napoleon doing here?”

Enchanted by the tiny red vans with ROYAL MAIL emblazoned down the side that stream constantly through the streets of London, I said in the same early days, “How cute! The Queen has her own mail vans!”

There are so, so many more, and I daresay you can think of a few, too. It’s good to make an embarrassing gaffs in public sometimes, I think, if for no other reason than it’s good for a big belly laugh, and you can never have too many of those.

2 Comments

  1. Elvis said,

    My mum once asked, “What time is the 7:30 report on?”. It is legendary within the family.

  2. doctordi said,

    Nice. That’s a good ‘un! Reminds me of the time I asked Llew’s parents how often the Manly Daily comes out…

Leave a Reply

