Postscript

December 5, 2006 at 5:08 am (Uncategorized)

Mr Beazley had a far worse day yesterday than I’d imagined. I’ve just belatedly been reading up on what else happened yesterday, and I understand his brother, David, died suddenly around the same time as the leadership ballot was taking place. It seems too cruel indeed. Whilst all this personal and professional loss was marking yesterday as one of Kim Beazley’s worst, I was taking my 83 year old Nana to lunch for her birthday. We talked politics together for the first time ever. We both remarked what a decent chap Kim Beazley seems to be, and what a shame it is that it just hasn’t happened for him. I understand now that he is in fact retiring from political life – who can blame him? – I’m sorry for that, but not half as sorry as I am to hear about the sudden death of his brother.

Leave a Reply

