Busting for Berlin

January 9, 2007 at 2:35 am (Uncategorized)

The Sydney Festival 2007 started on the weekend. In typically ironic Aussie fashion, the festival director isn’t from Sydney. He’s not even Australian. In fact, he’s a Paddy, Fergus Linehan, and by all accounts he’s doing a cracking job. High five, Fergus. This is the second of the three festivals to which he’s contracted, and then he and his family will return to Europe, which will be a huge loss to the state of the arts in this city.

My only problem with the 2007 program, which is otherwise fantastic, is that everything I really want to see is already sold out. Lou Reed is performing in a theatrical interpretation of his Berlin album, and I’d almost camp out overnight to get tickets to that. In fact, I might have to. The mainstay of Berlin tickets sold out in the time it takes me to suck in a breath, but there’s one small hope in the form of a lowly booth. This is one of Fergus Linehan’s initiatives. On the day of most Sydney Festival performances, a booth in Martin Place will sell a limited number of tickets cheaply. First in, best dressed, cash only, two tickets maximum, bargain basement prices, be there or be square. Totally egalitarian. This scheme is called Tix for Next to Nix, and it is the shining light for those of us whose broadband wasn’t fast enough to get hold of Lou Reed tickets in time.

I’m just trying to figure out if I’ll need to camp out at the front of the booth, or if the rest of Sydney has given up, because it too is assuming the rest of Sydney will be camping out. It’s always so hard to predict these things. Also I’m reluctant to pitch my tent. Actually, I don’t have a tent. And I hate queuing for anything, even if it’s Lou Reed or free ice-cream. And imagine being the person standing behind the lucky duck who buys the last two tickets… too many Charlie and the Chocolate Factory, Veruca Salt, Augustus Gloop flashbacks for that to be a happy moment. I know Charlie Bucket gets the bloody golden ticket in the end, but life is not like a box of fucking chocolates, I don’t care what that annoying idiot Forrest Gump said in that god awful movie I walked out of, so if I miss out at the booth, it’s all over red rover. No Lou Reed for me. God I hate that thought.

And it’s the same with sweet if slightly unstable nightingale Madeleine Peyroux. Sold out. And La Clique. Sold out. Yes, there is a theme emerging here, but I’m not sure it’s the one Fergus Linehan intended.

We do have tickets to Meryl Tankard’s Kaidan, which should be great, but I’d give up the Ghost in a second for a shot at the Transformer.

Leave a Reply

