His Hypocrisy Knows No Bounds

March 14, 2007 at 5:12 am (Uncategorized)

The man staggers me. Truly. He takes my breath away. He leaves me gasping. Incredulous. Choking. My jaw drops. My head shakes. My fists clench. Boy, am I ready for a new Prime Minister. And if we don’t get one at the next election, if the Australian people want to keep sidling up to that snake, then I’m out of here, and I’m taking my husband with me. I just don’t want to keep living in a place that keeps electing that man.

So Honest John’s latest brazen display of gross hypocrisy has to do with the ‘comfort women’ of World War II. These women were forced into prostitution to service Japanese soldiers during the war. This is accepted as historical fact, and in 1993 the ‘Kono apology’ acknowledged that some women were forced into sexual duties that the Japanese military either directly or indirectly abetted. Japan’s Prime Minister, Shinzo Abe, hit the news this week when he queried the extent of coercion involved.

And here comes John Howard, the moral hero of history, riding to the rescue… As reported by The Australian yesterday, ‘on the eve of joining Mr Abe for his first prime ministerial meeting in Tokyo, Mr Howard said there should be no attempt to rewrite history.’

OH MY GOD. I’m so galled I could S-C-R-E-A-M. This from our most dedicated revisionist. This from the man who has repeatedly danced around the finer points of the White Australia Policy, this from the man who has repeatedly shied away from acknowledging the Stolen Generation, this from the man who will not say sorry for the wrongs of the past (just a little casual spot of extermination) to the original inhabitants of this country. As it happens, I agree with his statements about comfort women. I say get it out there. Let’s hear it. Don’t hold back on the nasty bits – let’s keep it real, people. Let us learn from the mistakes and horrors of the past. We can use all the help we can get in the education department, after all, after nearly 11 years of being dumbed down, dumber and dumber, ever dumber by Howard’s Government. But to have him pass comment on another Prime Minister’s resistance to historical fact and consequent revisions toward a more palatable version of events? He just can’t be serious. Oh, but he is, isn’t he? Has a bigger hypocrite ever walked the face of the earth? I just can’t imagine it, because this guy takes the cake.

Leave a Reply

