Welcome to the World, Ella!

May 31, 2007 at 2:01 am (Uncategorized)

Too exciting, and this is as close as I can get to being there: my dear and distant English friend Kate gave birth yesterday to her first child, a daughter. Most of the overseas readers of this blog know Kate personally, so you might like to know she and her beau Stuart have named their little girl Ella, and how I wish I could meet the little miss in person rather than sending this remote greeting.

Welcome to life, baby girl.

She joins my latest relative, baby Harper, who arrived an impetuous month early on 20 May. I’ve already seen photos of Harper (my sister and her family live a fair distance from Sydney), and she’s sleeping as soundly as all little princesses should. Early reports from England suggest Ella is also very chilled out about this whole existence thing.

It’s very difficult being both a sister and friend by proxy. I’m missing all these markers, births, birthdays, assorted milestones. I’ve spoken before in this blog about how inadequate it feels, being so far away, and moments like this really make me count out, as I just emailed my friend Fernando, every single nautical mile between here and what I called the smugly companionable European cluster. Everything looks so easy when you’re in Europe. None of the distances feel insurmountable. As an Australian living on the east coast of Australia, I can assure you there are days when I feel the distance with every fiber of my being. It doesn’t just look like a long way on the map, it is a long way.

Leave a Reply

