Wow.

June 8, 2007 at 4:07 am (Uncategorized)

Well, when the weather turns foul in this place, it really doesn’t muck around. After weeks of perfect conditions, yesterday was bad, but today is nigh on apocalyptic on the coast. I can see the surf from out the front of our place, and it is really fierce out there today. I haven’t seen a swell like this for maybe two years, and even then I’m not sure this one doesn’t take the prize.

I had to brave it a little while ago because I needed to collect my printer ink, and by the time I dripped back through my own front door, I was saturated up to my arse cheeks. Truly drenched. My shoes have changed colour – that’s how wet and wild it is out there today.

I must say, I am so glad, for all the inconvenience, damp, and cold, to be living so close to the action. It was absolutely exhilarating walking down the beach front promenade to the village, witnessing the offshore armageddon firsthand. I was pelted with rain so sharp and furious it felt like hail, and I had to walk backwards part of the way because the wind was smacking me around the face so hard I kept reeling off course. Looking out to sea, the waves were ferocious and huge, the foaming peaks a stampede of white stallions charging toward the shore. It looks so angry out there right now. So unsafe.

Here’s a link to a news article on the conditions in Sydney on the smh.com.au website. But I think it’s their photos of a tanker virtually running aground in Newcastle, a couple of hours north of Sydney, that really paints a picture of what the elements are doing on the east coast of New South Wales today. Seriously, take a moment, and get a load of this. It is something else.

Leave a Reply

