Timing is Everything

July 13, 2007 at 2:25 am (Uncategorized)

As far as I’m aware, the next federal election is going to be in November this year. It’s basically mid-July now. That means we’ll all be heading off to the polls to cast our compulsory votes in a mere four months. The way this year is galloping by, four months quite honestly feels like three more sleeps.

What’s interesting – well, one of the things that’s interesting – about the small amount of time left is that the Liberal party is in a fairly unusual position. Certainly it’s different to their election platform in the past. Now it really is dicey. Loose Lips Latham became Labor leader (how’s that for some Friday morning alliteration? I might have another COFFEE) too close to the last election and Labor lost. There are many reasons for this, one of which is that for some reason people seem to believe Howard when he says ‘There will be no interest rate rises.’ At the moment the population of this country seems utterly obsessed with the padding of each individual’s prosperous, plump nest, those big, troubling, cultural and ethical dilemmas of far less interest than protecting one’s own slice of the cul-de-sac. We’ve embraced the principles of capitalism with gusto, and now it’s every Australian for themselves. ‘Screw the rest of you, I just don’t give a damn about any of it.’ So ‘There will be no interest rate rises’ is really all our nude Emperor need say to keep the wheels on his go-cart.

One of the other problems was Latham. His youth and vitality were appealing; his potty mouth and pub arm were not. Then there was the whole timing thing – the election seemed to verily rush into view before we’d really sized up Latham to our national satisfaction. I think most of us who voted Labor – and let’s not forget that even with our severe mortgage blindness, many of us did – did so not because we were voting for a Latham-led government but because we were voting against Howard’s. Maybe less of us would have voted Labor if Latham had had more time or if we’d had a wee gander at his diary in the lead-up – in his case, familiarity did seem to breed a rather virulent strain of contempt. In any case, he was an enigma come polling day, and Labor lost.

The Liberal party under Howard faces the opposite problem now. He’s our old slipper in traditional tartan. There are no surprises left. No shaking of the presents piled so abundantly (because let’s not forget our little sugar daddy says we’ve never been better off), under Howard’s political tree – we already know what’s inside. And because we apparently don’t fancy Costello as the next PM, Howard is staying right where he is going into the election. He fancies himself as the Government’s best chance of being returned, and maybe he’s right.

Then again, maybe he’s wrong. I don’t know about you, but I am sick of the sight of John Howard, and I don’t think it’s just because I can’t abide his politics (oh all right, it is!). I can’t get the same thing for Christmas 12 years in a row and continue to feign enthusiasm. Maybe I’m just a greedy, ungrateful boom-time brat who doesn’t know how lucky she is to have been graced with more than a decade of care under the benevolent roof of Howard’s household, but I gotta tell ya: I’m looking for more in the Prime Minister of Australia. I want out of this house.

So I wonder how the chips will fall this time, timing wise. I wonder if Kevin Rudd’s time is right and if Howard’s time is…well, up. It feels a bit like the Liberal party is damned if they stick with him now and damned if they don’t – or is that just me and my wishful thinking again?

2 Comments

  1. Tim said,

    Hi Di,

    Yeah, you’re probably right about a lot of the dietary thing. I wanted to start my blog with all guns blazing, I guess.

    T

  2. doctordi said,

    Perfectly understandable, Timothy – and I hope you don’t mind that my confirmed fatism blazed back. I can clearly imagine the scene at the festival, and I do think people love to tut tut everybody else’s problems, but it doesn’t change the fact that kids are fat now in pretty alarming numbers and that really is a genuine cause for concern. Look at the next excursion group of kids you come across and tell me what you see.

Leave a Reply

