Nice work if you can get it…

July 26, 2007 at 3:41 am (Uncategorized)

… as my sister said to me this morning, and she’s right. I won’t be able to post for the next few days because I’m going on a travel writing gig to Wanaka in New Zealand. Yes, it’s sickening, I know. Llew can’t even look at me at the moment. He’s actually a good skier, whereas I am a complete klutz. There is no justice, it seems. Whilst I am getting some desperately-needed lessons and whizzing down the slopes at Treble Cone, or soothing my aching muscles at Oakridge Spa Resort, or checking out the funky bars of Wanaka, my poor Llewie will be stuck at home studying for his SIA exam…Ew. It really does seem rather unfair, so it’s no wonder he walked out of the room when I started to read out my itinerary the other night.

I’m not quite despicable enough to carry on gloating, I can see that it’s already wearing thin, so I’ll just say I won’t be blogging until next Wednesday, 1 August, when I shall fill you in on the delights of one of the most spectacular destinations in the world. I know because I’ve been there once before, and back then Wanaka almost made me weep, I was so moved by its beauty. That was in 1994 on my first backpacking trip. I went with Sarah and our friendship was properly born. We were hysterical the entire way around New Zealand, and all my memories are accompanied by a kind of phantom pain in my ribs from all the laughing we did. And when we stopped laughing, it was only because our jaws dropped constantly over some new and unbelievable vista. If you’ve never been to New Zealand, you really must go. It is so superb, really just incredibly beautiful, and Kiwis are super hip besides.

Exciting! See you next week (is it just me or is this year eating itself? How oh how can it possibly be August next Wednesday??) for the full rundown of all my ritual humiliations. Ski bunny? Not so much.

2 Comments

  1. Tim said,

    Wow – congrats, Di! Looks like the wheels are in motion for the freelancing, which is great. Have an excellent trip, and try not to injure yourself too severely on the slopes.
    Tim x

  2. doctordi said,

    Fighting fit and (aside from a very tender liver) injury free!

Leave a Reply

