That Ship Has Sailed

September 12, 2007 at 6:30 am (Uncategorized)

Well, it turns out I am nothing if not pragmatic, so 24 hours after the knockout punch, I find I am already walking away with a jaunty spring in my step. That ship, as they say, has sailed, and no amount of navel-gazing and fervent imaginings of alternate outcomes will bring it back. So ciao, dear Vogel, and bon voyage. Allow me to wave you off with a happy heart.

Here’s the article from one of the judges, plus snapshots of the 5 shortlisted titles (from a field of 144 entrants). It’s ambiguous on the question of whether all 4 judges read all 144 manuscripts, but given they only had about 120 days, it seems unlikely. Then again, what would I know? Nothing. That’s the beauty of the whole process. It’s extraordinarily opaque, like the best brothel window.

I’m determined to shamelessly whore my wares elsewhere, chickadees – what fun! There’s never a dull moment around here, so stay tuned for Part III in the continuing saga of the unpublished manuscript bearing my name. Tally-ho!

Leave a Reply

