With a Bang, not a Whimper

September 24, 2007 at 4:35 am (Uncategorized)

That’s how I greeted the dawn of my mid-30s year (because let’s face it, prior to 35 we all shamelessly cling to the early-30s label, whereas post 35 there’s simply no getting around it: it’s late-30s whether we like it or not). I am still feeling the effects of all the revelry, but I suppose that’s to be expected, especially as Friday night ultimately involved Dan swinging from the rafters at Cas and Simon’s apartment in Woolloomooloo…

I was supposed to run the half-marathon on Sunday morning, but somehow that 4:45 am start just slipped away from me on the day. When I awoke at 6 am and realised I could no longer get to the race in time, the tears shed were few indeed. Truth be told, I was very happy to just roll over and go back to sleep and forget all about the 21 kilometres I was supposed to run before breakfast. Now, of course, I’m filled with self-loathing and a deep sense of ‘quitter’s regret,’ but on the day I … well, I just really needed more sleep.

I don’t bemoan the passing years. That kind of negative reflection on things forever lost has never really been my scene. The only thing that surprises me is the persistent arrival of these grey hairs upon my head – be gone, dull witches, be gone! Other than that, I’m just ecstatic to be here. I am always really glad to have made it, because plenty of people don’t. It’s a crazy old world and every birthday reached is an accomplishment in itself. Seen clearly, it’s just a damn lucky thing to lurch from one birthday to the next reasonably intact. My 34th year was great, I had a blast, and I am already enjoying the first few days of being 35. The birthday festival was long and satisfying, and now it’s time to turn to the year ahead and figure out how best and with whom to spend it. I hope you’ll join me for the ride.

Leave a Reply

