The Moral Imperative

November 22, 2007 at 7:41 am (Uncategorized)

I want to shout it off rooftops and grab people by the collar and pass out copies and email everyone I know: READ THIS. Read it.

It’s like the man has read my mind and then put everything that scares and sickens me about John Howard’s government into his far more eloquent words. I cannot say it any better. I don’t think anyone can.

Do you know, I was sitting here thinking about this Saturday’s election yesterday, and at the thought of Howard winning, I actually started crying. Actual tears. Because the thought of it is so crushing. The thought of what it will say about us, about this country, about what we’ve become and what we’ve lost. I just can’t believe it’s going to happen, and I don’t think it will. I think Australians know we’ve gone somewhere darker down his road than we were ever meant to go. It’s time to change direction. It’s not too late for us, and I believe Kevin Rudd as our Prime Minister will simply care more about some of the things really worth caring about in this life.

As Albert Einstein said, not everything that can be counted counts, and not everything that counts can be counted.

Leave a Reply

