Here Comes the Rain Again…

December 10, 2007 at 5:16 am (Uncategorized)

It’s just after four in the afternoon. The shadows have deepened in my office. The deep rumble of foreboding sounded outside my window several minutes ago now. It’s going prematurely dark as once again the skies cloud over in woolly deepest grey and begin to fall in.

It’s been like this for days now. Each day bringing with it – no one knows exactly when the storm will strike, only that it will – a display of thunder, lightning and rain that draws us meekly to the window to watch. We gasp, jump at a sudden and violent crackle of fury, and hug ourselves as we stand in safety glad to be sheltered inside.

Outside it rages, felling trees, felling men.

These storms move across Sydney with a speed and ferocity that makes me afraid. I urge Llew away from the window. If I am on the street when the lightning starts landing around me, I run. I run to get out of it, to get away, to find a small space where I can hide.

Here it is again, the dreadful thunder sounding its intent.

In the distance, there is a wailing siren.

I’m on the edge of my seat, waiting. The rain is coming now, here it is, beginning to sheet its way to earth, only to be lost to us, this country that’s so desperate for water, as it finds its way mostly straight out to sea.

Leave a Reply

