And That’s Me Signing Off for 2007

December 21, 2007 at 6:39 am (Uncategorized)

Well, folks, I am beat. Bushed. Fagged. Exhausted. Wrung out. Tired. Ironed flat. Stuffed.

And before my energy levels decline any further, I’d like to take this opportunity to say I so much hope all of you have a wonderful, happy and safe holiday season and end to what I am calling the fastest year on record.

2007, you’ve been a big year. There’s been some terrible sadness and great joy. Death and life, separations and weddings, successes and failures, goodbyes and reunions, rain and sun. I’ve lost a couple of friends (it happens, I’ve found), but I’ve made a couple, too.

DoctorDi has had its first birthday and to date around 6,300 views, so thanks very much for checking in when you do, and for coming back.

I said in a post dated January 4 2007 that I wanted 2007 to be the year I finished a fiction manuscript and the year I joined some kind of community of writers. Well, I suppose I can regard the year as a moderate success in that case. I have a draft. It exists. It needs work, it needs “rebashing” as Miriam (my fellow Varuna casualty) coined it (we decided we were sick of the sight of the word ‘redraft’), but it is a whole piece of work and I am proud of it. And come January, I will go back to it and try to make it better. Is it finished? No, and I understand now that it will never really be finished. There will just come a day when the rebashing stops.

And whilst we’re on it, Miriam and I are hardly ‘a community of writers,’ but it was an untold relief to hear her friendly voice shout out across the dark, lonely forest in which unpublished authors dwell. We have exchanged our work and email regularly and I am looking forward to meeting her in person at the beginning of the New Year. The fact that this blog created the circumstances of our meeting really makes me glad for it, glad that I have persevered and put myself out there and hollered. Her sanity and decency also give me hope that this so far computer-based ‘community of two’ (virtual but somehow not at all strange) will grow into an abiding writerly friendship. I feel very lucky that bombing out of Varuna meant finding Miriam instead.

I hope everyone else is also taking the best from the year and leaving the rest of the flotsam behind.

Onwards, ever onwards my dears, and see you bright and early in 2008 (two, four, six, eight, bog in, don’t wait!).

Leave a Reply

