Admin A-Go-Go

January 3, 2008 at 4:25 am (Uncategorized)

There’s always a real sense of closet cleaning at the beginning of the year that I find quite therapeutic. Down comes the wreath from the front door (Llew and I did rather impressive crafty things with shells, ribbon and holly this year so we’d have a proper wreath for the first time ever, but do you think any bastard noticed until we dragged them by the ear back out the door, pointed and said “Look what we made, goddamn it, aren’t you awed by our ingenious show of creativity?!” No, of course not). Down comes the Christmas card display (I hoard cards, letters, and postcards and can never bring myself to throw them out… over time this has become a much bigger problem than back in early high school when I only fielded missives from a couple of over-enthusiastic pen-pals from the Baltic states… now I have boxes, literally BOXES, full of the stuff… it’s my one hoarding weakness – lies, what about my books?! – but it’s a big one). Out goes the Collins desktop calendar from the previous year (you know the one – each day comes with a quote. Today’s is fabulous: ‘A great many people think they are thinking when they are merely rearranging their prejudices’ – William James) and in goes the new one…

I spend about an hour early each new year writing important dates carried over from the previous year into those brand new desktop calendars. Today the 2007 calendar graced my desk for the last time. I felt a little sad to see it go – it was full of such amazing information about the year I’ve just left behind. The day my new baby niece was born. The day friends got married. Christening dates. Birthday celebrations. New home purchases. Friends flying into Sydney and out… The day I finished the first draft of my manuscript as well as the day I learned I still had a long way to go. It was a fascinating little trip down memory lane. It was fun and satisfying, for instance, to see ‘Ella Brown born’ in 2007 become ‘Ella’s 1st birthday’ as I wrote it into 2008. It was one of my first rituals for the year, and I enjoyed it.

Leave a Reply

