Starting to Barrack for Barack…

January 30, 2008 at 5:04 am (Uncategorized)

I’m fascinated by America, always have been and always will be. I find the place and its people riveting. The spectacle of our times. And nothing is more fascinating than the circus that is an American presidential election campaign. Just look at the race for the nominations. I am staggered by the amount of wedge and resources required simply to get the nod from the party before the real contest begins between the Democrats and Republicans. I’m concerned that it sometimes appears to be the candidates with the deepest pockets instead of the deepest thoughts who get to run for one of the most important nominations in the world. But I’m excited by the current presidential nomination race, and I can’t wait for Super Tuesday. Talk about high drama.

I’ll admit I was originally feeling pretty partial to a Clinton win. I always liked Billy Boy, and I think Hils is a pretty smart cookie. I also immediately responded to the idea of a female contender for the next President of the United States. Yes, I’m biased in this regard. I want to see the girl get up. But as time goes on, and I read more about Senator Barack Obama, the more I think it’s going to be hard to do anything but barrack for Barack.

He’s arguing for generational change, and I agree it’s required. I can’t be the only one who finds the notion of an American political landscape that looks like Bush-Clinton-Clinton-Bush-Bush-Clinton frankly unsettling. In a country the size of the US, jam-packed as it is with talent, I simply do not accept that there are only two families capable of doing this job (and in fact history will show that only one was capable at all). There’s something deeply disturbing about the idea of a Clinton return to the White House, just as I found it immediately alarming when the Bush dynasty was returned (and with such a regrettable puppet at the helm). What’s the bet Jeb Bush puts his hand up next time around? The whole thing gives me the willies. The only time I don’t get that shudder of foreboding is when I see old footage of Robert Kennedy during his own tilt at the Democratic nomination before he was slain. The world really missed out on a man there. Watching grainy black and white footage of him speak gave me goosebumps. What a shame he didn’t get to run, and didn’t get elected, and didn’t lead America in a different direction to the one it ultimately followed. And of course he was preceded by the untouchable JFK, another man who never reached his potential in the service of the American people. Another man shot dead before we really knew what he was capable of. So I make an exception in Bobby Kennedy’s case; it would be bloody nice to know what a Kennedy full term in office actually looked like, and a damn shame we’ll never know. And by the way, the Kennedy family have endorsed not the dynasty but the underdog.

Senator Obama is an exciting candidate for so many reasons (and I’m going to have to go for McCain for the Republican ticket). He’s apparently behind Hils in the polls, but you never know what the members of the party have in store when they vote. They’ve already shelled out a few surprises. So I for one will be watching with interest, and rooting for the Big B, and hoping for an historic change in the House once this first hurdle of securing the nomination is successfully behind this outside chance. Gimme a ‘B’!

Leave a Reply

