The Mother of All Migraines

February 15, 2008 at 4:44 am (Uncategorized)

Well, Llew and I had the most ordinary Valentine’s Day we’ve ever had together yesterday. The onset of my migraines is always the same, very textbook. My vision separates (if I look in a mirror straight on I can only see half of what’s there, as in a fun house mirror), and then it starts pooling, like there’s a shimmering around my periphery. After that stops, the pain in my head comes swiftly and totally.

And so it came to be that a full frontal lobe assault utterly derailed our planned dinner for two last night. No, Llew had dinner and wine alone after we had to cancel our order, pay our bill (we’re on such a budget at the moment it was just a cosy little local pizzeria, but god it was nice to be out…even if I lasted about 15 minutes), and get me home, where we found the neighbouring apartment block’s fire alarm bringing down the house (not once, but twice – it also went off at about 11:30 pm and stayed on for half an hour, so close to my poor aching head it was like it was fitted in my ear).

Llew watched a DVD and ate the pizza they’d packed up for us to take home, and I went into our quiet, dark, cool room with my head screaming. Romantic, huh? Anyway, I could tell you more, and might on Monday, but the computer screen isn’t agreeing with me even now, and I am feeling rather fragile and yes, it has to be said, a little bit sorry for myself, so I am going to say ta ta for now, and hopefully things will be better by Monday.

3 Comments

  1. Mike said,

    Earplugs! Always have a set nearby — I keep a set in my work bag, a set in the overnighter, a set in each toiletries bag, a few of them beside the bed. Best invention in the world. Super defense against inconsideration and snoring (and, presumably, building works next door). Don’t leave home without it. Don’t stay home without it.

    Hasta la vista. A la prochaine. Have a good weekend!

    XX

  2. Mike said,

    Oh, yeah, and, like, hope you feel better an’ all that.

    XX

  3. doctordi said,

    Thanks, Mike, although I don’t think I can blame the builders for this one! Also not sure that ear plugs will save me from future migraines, but I may well invest in some for all the other contingencies you mention!
    xx

Leave a Reply

