Could This Really Be It…?

May 5, 2008 at 6:05 am (Uncategorized)

I’m almost scared to ask… But – and I say this with the due caution of the truly exhausted who know better than to assume anything – so far, so good… I am at my desk, and I am connected to the internet. It’s a start.

Since filing three articles at 10 am this morning (via an internet cafe, because the Virgin modem still wasn’t working), I have been back in to see Joe at Virgin, laptop in tow, to return the maddening, violence-inducing modem he sold me at the end of last week. You know the one. It didn’t work. Over the course of the weekend, both Llew and I separately nearly threw the laptop out the window after various attempts to connect with the outside world abundantly, emphatically failed. I just wanted it gone, smote, dusted into oblivion.

I should say that it’s like the modem knew . Earlier today, it behaved beautifully for Joe, it was a picture of high-speed perfection. Nothing went wrong the entire time I was in the store. I was speechless, but insistent: nothing had changed from my end. The fact remained that this thing didn’t work where and when I needed it to. Joe was unflappable. We puzzled over the change in the modem’s disposition together, then he ducked out the back and returned with a new and apparently more powerful gizmo. It’s the one that’s plugged into my computer right now. So far, it works, but only just – it’s showing only one bar of coverage here at the desk. If I move it to the lounge-room, it leaps up to four sturdy bars, as strong as a 10 year old’s heartbeat. Oh, uh oh, now it’s saying no bars… which is not good – does that mean I’ve been disconnected? I guess we’ll find out when I go to upload this post.

What I fail to understand is why it’s so different to the Virgin coverage on my mobile phone. In the exact same spot, my phone is registering full coverage, so what’s different here? I don’t know, I don’t get it. I’m not sure it should be happening like this. Oh well, I guess I’ll try to run it on one bar and see how we go. I’m so knackered by all my technology failures of the past four days that I don’t even have the strength to tell you about my day on Friday. What a shocker. Everything but everything I needed to do my job broke down on Friday, seconds before a scheduled phone interview I was doing for one of the stories I filed today. Very uncool. Very unprofessional. Desperate times at DoctorDi HQ, I can tell you. I want to give you the full blow by blow because I think you’ll like it, it’s funny as long as it’s not happening to you, but it’s going to have to wait until tomorrow, when I’ll hopefully have slept for about fifteen hours and will be starting to feel normal again. Right now I’m just going to take a deep breath and press ‘publish,’ and then I’m going for a lie down to try and forget the last week ever happened.

2 Comments

  1. Rubes said,

    …Gather ye round as I tells ye the story of 3G vs GSM urban coverage…
    Sorry to hear of your tech issues.
    It may be too late but the other option is ‘Naked ADSL’ broadband which I believe you can get without a Telstra contract.

  2. doctordi said,

    Rubes, you’re the second person to tell me of this strange 3G vs GSM world… Mike shared the truth with me yesterday… I don’t understand why or how it is that you all seem to know so much about these things. I’ll just be outrageously sexist for a moment and put it down to that wonderful generalisation that men like gadgets and women like shoes.

Leave a Reply

