I Love My New Toy.

August 29, 2008 at 7:49 am (Uncategorized)

Home again. I’m sitting here like a child beneath the Christmas tree. It just doesn’t seem right to open all the fun new toys without Llewie, ever my willing partner in crime, so instead I’ve left it all in the Apple carry bag that alerted absolutely everyone I passed on my way home to the fact that I have one and they don’t. Ah. It’s a surprisingly good feeling, the occasional bout of unstoppable, smug-infused glee. I’m feeling pretty jim dandy about it all. So I suppose you’re wondering what fine and totally sexed up piece of machinery I went for in the end? Actually I should stress that it was a joint decision. I was so mortified by the cost of everything in the store that I basically suggested we just forget it and get me a little paper model version instead, that I could sit on my desk next to this computer, the grand old dinosaur that she is. I asked the Apple guy who valiantly tried explaining all the technical stuff to me (why bother? I mean, really. Why? You lost me at hello.) what the shelf (or desk) life is for the average laptop, and he said 3 years. Gee, have my clam-shaped iBook and I blown that out of the water…this thing must be a virtual collector’s item by now… But at the time it was the biz, pure and simple, and I suppose once a glutton for the shiny pretty things, always a glutton for the shiny pretty things. Twinkle twinkle.

So yes, people, a Mac Air it is. I hear you gasp with awe and amazement, and I share your sentiments wholly. I think one of the reasons I haven’t even opened the bag since carting all my goodies home is that I don’t quite believe it’s real. The thing weighs one kilo. One lousy kilo. I can easily pick it up with one hand (not that I will, Llewie…no, no no! Nor will I drink coffee or drop cake crumbs anywhere near its gleaming magnificence). And that’s what got it over the line, in the end, because for me to actually take a laptop out and about, and on weekends away, and on travel writing trips, I need it to be light on my shoulder or back. It’s just no fun otherwise. I have a very low tolerance for pain.

But what a birthday present! How good is that?! How much do I think Llew rocks even harder than usual?? How did I get this gem of a man to even speak to me, let alone marry me and share his net worth with me??!!! It’s amazing, it really is. And going up to Varuna with a kilo in my bag instead of a fat baby clam is enough to make me float on, well, Air….

Oh yes. Which brings me to the fact that I’ll be there all of next week, so although I shall try my blogging best to post you details of what’s happening, in actual fact I have NO IDEA what’s going to transpire come Monday, nor how structured my days will be, nor how productive I’m going to be, so if it happens that you don’t hear from me in the next week, you know where I am and what I’m doing, and I will be back on board with tales to tell of my week in the woods. Do take care in the meantime.

4 Comments

  1. Rupert said,

    Is “Llewie” the same “Llew” who didn’t do the dishes last week??

  2. doctordi said,

    No. No, Rupert, “Llewie” is my new and improved husband, I traded “Llew” in and got an upgrade. It’s working out well so far.

  3. Tan said,

    I’m so jealous! My MacBook is barely 2 years old and I cannot yet justify an upgrade but I regularly drool over the Air!!

    Have a great week. I’m very interested in hearing about it. Keep your ears open and your creative hat on. It’ll be great for you!

  4. doctordi said,

    I won’t lie to you, Tan. It really is a thing of beauty. Well worth the drool.
    All going well here, although I’ve already been taken completely by surprise, as you’ll hear in the post I’m about to write.

Leave a Reply

