Down to the Wire

December 3, 2008 at 10:32 pm (Uncategorized)

I have somehow managed to walk into a really busy week personally, when professionally it’s probably the most important of my life so far. I have six days to get my manuscript up to Varuna for Stage Two of the Varuna HarperCollins Manuscript Development Awards, and I still have to rewrite the ending. Nothing like a bit of over-ambition to keep life interesting. 

It’s Nana’s 85th birthday today, so I’ll be doing the schlepp over to the other side of town and back, my laptop on my knees, trying to work as well as meet that obligation. And that’s pretty much the nature of the rest of the week, so I am going to have to ask for your patience whilst I try and get this draft in order ahead of next Wednesday’s deadline. I’m envisaging an overnight envelope at the close of business Tuesday… oh yes, then I have another aged care assistance meeting over at Nana’s next Wednesday… I tell you what, it is really starting to consume a lot of time and energy trying to manage this situation. Monday, for instance, was basically a write-off once all the calls and enquiries were fielded. But I’m hopeful the care assistance package will start soon, and that should help ease the strain. The shame of it is Nana isn’t even really benefiting – she’s still refusing to go on that weekly outing, and my asking her about it only resulted in her bitching to my sister about me. And yes, that makes me feel like telling her to shove it up her arse. But, of course, you can’t do that. You have to keep trying to do the right thing. Anyway, I am going to be off the air and down to the wire over the next few days, and I’l return with a post and business as usual next Wedneday 10 December. Wish me luck!

2 Comments

  1. kate said,

    Best of luck! xxxooo

  2. doctordi said,

    Thank you!!

Leave a Reply

