Still Alive

January 20, 2009 at 2:42 am (Uncategorized)

The short list has been announced today for the Varuna HarperCollins Manuscript Development Awards 2009, and I am beyond delighted to say my manuscript is among the 18 chosen to advance to the final stage. Oh. My. God. Must try to remember to keep breathing…

From here, those 18 manuscripts are sent from Varuna to HarperCollins, and the final 5 will be announced early March. So… 13 manuscripts are going to be wiped from the board between now and then, and mine may well be among them, but no matter, because TODAY,  it’s still in with a chance, and making this short list is a huge reward in itself. It is progress. It is the highlight of my career, no question. I feel sick, and teary, but oh so very, very glad and grateful. 

I know I should be posting about Barack Obama’s inauguration as the next President of the United States today, but I hope you’ll forgive me if we discuss the highlights tomorrow. Right now I just want to walk around grinning at strangers. I’m going to get up at 3 am tomorrow to watch the live coverage (we don’t have a TV, but Llewie can somehow rig up an old VCR so that TV channels can run through the projector – most impressive and technical, and don’t ask me how it works), and greet the new dawn in more ways than one.

11 Comments

  1. Lilian Nattel said,

    Congratulations & good luck!

  2. doctordi said,

    THANK YOU, Lilian – I’m a bit speechless to find a Real Novelist commenting here, but incredibly buoyed by your good wishes. Thank you so much.

  3. Jenny said,

    Hey! Aren’t I a real novelist! Congratulations & good luck from me too. Oh. And some love. I likewise have the alarm set for 3.00 am. I’ll sit there like the cheshire cat and watch with you Llew.

  4. doctordi said,

    Of course you are, Jenny, and big time CONGRATULATIONS are in order for you too, fellow short-lister!!!!! But I know you, so it’s different… I just assume it’s 99.9% people I know who read this blog, so I always get a huge bolt of surprise and shock when it’s someone who wouldn’t know me from Eve. You know what I mean – you’re just being cheeky! And why not?!

    I like the thought of us sitting up in different parts of the country watching the inauguration before sunrise…

  5. kate said,

    Congratulations!! I am thrilled but not suprised, and can’t wait to read my signed first edition. Love from us too, Kate.

  6. doctordi said,

    Thanks, sister. And I love your confidence! There are still some mighty high hurdles to clear before that happens, but hopefully one day, one day, one day…

    xx

  7. Miriam said,

    Hey, you rule!!!
    Congratulations! That’s absolutely fantastic and after all the hard work I can’t think of anyone who deserves the reward more. I’m looking forward to reading the shiny new ‘spill’ in the not-too-distant future, hopefully between shiny hard covers.
    xm

  8. doctordi said,

    Thanks, Madam M – I’m afraid shiny hard covers are a long way off yet, but there’s a shiny happy person right here!

  9. Rubes said,

    Simply brilliant news! fantastico!!!!

  10. litlove said,

    Wonderful news! and extremely exciting, too. I have everything crossed for you, but really, having come this far it doesn’t matter if you actually win or not, as you’ve had the recognition that makes all the difference.

  11. doctordi said,

    Thanks, Rubes, thanks Litlove! Thanks, everyone! I seem to be using an inordinate number of exclamation marks these past twenty-four hours! Oh dear! Now I can’t stop!

Leave a Reply

