Hmmm, What the Hell Do I Know?!

February 3, 2009 at 2:30 am (Uncategorized)

Sorry about the absence of a post yesterday. My sister and her kids are in Sydney, so she collected Nana and we all had lunch together in the apartment they’re staying in downtown. Then I got distracted by MS #2, and in my experience, you don’t interrupt when it’s going well. You keep your head down and your fingers hovering over the keyboard and hope like hell that it just keeps coming. I’m heading straight back to it after I post this, which was supposed to be about John Kennedy Toole’s brilliant novel, A Confederacy of Dunces, but won’t be now because I’ve decided I want to finish it before blogging about it. I usually read one book at a time, but I’m an utter mess at the moment. I don’t know how I’ve allowed it to happen, but I’ve currently got about half a dozen books on the go, and I don’t feel like I’m getting through any of them. I suppose this is why I’ve been such a serial monogamist as a reader, because right now none of these titles is getting my full and proper attention. So. I’m going back to my own first instinct. One book at a time. And A Confederacy of Dunces is cutting the queue. Make way, make way. 

In the meantime, Litlove tagged me last week, and I’ve only just realised I’m supposed to respond to the post in kind (call me stupid, but some of this blogosphere etiquette is still completely mysterious to me). My thanks go to Charlotte, for had she not posted her ten things in response to Litlove’s, it’s quite likely I would never have realised I was supposed to do the same, and to Pete at Couchtrip, who also knew what to do. As it happened, I simply became curious about the other bloggers Litlove tagged, and so happily discovered yet another blog I like, Charlotte’s Web (Charlotte’s latest post is itself a very tempting list of bloggers that she finds hysterical. I am now forcing myself not to read those blogs, because I can see how that story ends, and that’s with yours truly never, ever finding the time or the discipline to complete another one of her own). So. Here we go. Ten things I know… ten things I know… hmmm, ten things I know…

1. Education fosters tolerance; ignorance breeds fear.

2. Laughter is easily as sacred as tears.

3. Personal fulfillment will never, ever fall from the sky. You’ve got to work for it, and keep working all the time.*

4. Men and women really are different, but human beings are basically alike.

5. Good communication brings people closer.

6. Life is way too short to be unduly deterred by what other people think of your dreams.

7. Children know things, and rarely miss what grown-ups think well hidden.

8. There’s room enough in the realm of possibility for what each of us believes.

9. There’s a lot to be said for seizing the day.

10. Love is a wonderfully fertile crop that spreads easily and well in even the most hostile climes.

* Originally this read ‘you have to look for it, and keep looking all the time,’ but as Charlotte pointed out, it’s an active search. There’s work involved.

8 Comments

  1. Pete said,

    Charlotte is fantastic and you’re right – reading too many blogs can lead to many happy hours of diversion. I think the thing to do is to be all disciplined about it. Have your writing hours and your downtime (although it doesn’t work like that for me). Loved your answers, especially the one about personal fulfillment.

  2. charlotteotter said,

    Oooh, I’m coming over all flattered! Glad to have found you too, Doctor Di. I also love #4, though I would add that you don’t only have to look for it, you have actively make it happen.

  3. Pete said,

    I think Charlotte means # 3! Looking for men and women all the time and making it happen is something else entirely 😉

  4. doctordi said,

    Hi Charlotte! Cool – I wasn’t sure how to lure you here, but I’m very glad you could make it. I agree with you… maybe I should change ‘look’ to ‘work’…

    Pete, I wish I had any faith whatsoever that I could be that disciplined person, but I am not she. I have an addictive personality. It was dangerous enough when I kept myself strictly to Couchtrip and Litlove (with PostSecret every Monday), but now with the addition of Charlotte’s Web and A Novelist’s Mind, I feel like I have to call time. As it is I’m hopelessly tempted to keep checking for updates (which, let’s face it, I do several times a day). Bad. Great for reading, very bad for writing.

  5. Pete said,

    Di – Yes, I can see how that would be terribly distracting when you’re writing. But as for managing the blogs, have you tried Bloglines or Google Reader? They update every hour so you save a lot of time going there rather than seeing who has updated every day. And as with any addiction, I manage my blog addiction by acknowledging it’s there and trying only to indulge a bit at a time.

  6. litlove said,

    Well, I’ve come over all alpha-female at being the first to tag you 😉

    Love your answers here. My entire life has been based on numbers 1 and 5, but I also very much appreciate 7. The look in my son’s eyes all too often tells me that is perfectly true.

  7. doctordi said,

    Okay. I lied. I wandered off and went straight to another blog. I read, and it was good. And I blame you, Pete. And Litlove. And maybe Charlotte (I don’t know about love, but hell, blame sure transfers a treat!). Because now I also have to add Quotidian Vicissitudes to my blogroll. That Mr. Rochester is a funny, funny guy. See? It’s spinning out of control! There’s nothing else for it. I’m logging off now and going back to the relative safety of my unwritten manuscript…

    (until tomorrow.)

  8. doctordi said,

    Litlove, you’ve certainly started something with this tagging business…! And it was an interesting challenge ‘fessing up to ten things I know (or, perhaps more accurately, ten things I believe).

Leave a Reply

