Girls on Tour

February 26, 2009 at 11:16 am (Uncategorized)

Serendipity is a funny old thing. Months ago, in fact quite soon after the Professional Development Residency at Varuna at which we all met, the other Darklings and I decided this whole five-degrees-of-separation thing was for the birds. We missed each other. And as much as we were enjoying our Virtual Varuna online, it wasn’t the same as working through the day before coming together at sundown, sitting around the log fire in the Blue Mountains, roasting marshmallows, sipping wine, reading our work and talking all night. No, it wasn’t the same at all. So we booked flights to our Secret Destination and started counting the days. One of the Darklings honestly started counting down when there was nothing much to get excited about, like SIXTY FIVE DAYS TO GO or something like that, you know, a decent portion of a year, but here we are now with one sleep to go. One more sleep. I can’t wait for the five of us to be together because, serendipity being what it is, it turns out we all need each other right about now. 

(I’ll try and blog during our little writing retreat, but just in case it’s as productive a time for that infernal manuscript as I’m hoping it will be, I will definitely return to fill you in by next Tuesday… the 2nd of March, I think it’ll be.)

5 Comments

  1. Pete said,

    Way to go, Di. Hope you five Darklings have a fab time on your retreat and that it’s a productive time too. Congrats on all your words.

  2. Lilian Nattel said,

    Oh have fun!!!

  3. doctordi said,

    Thanks, Pete, thanks, Lilian! We are all here (not really a Secret Location, I’ve just always wanted to have one of those. Actually we’re at Aireys Inlet in Victoria, down the Great Ocean Road. Unfortunately we flew into Avalon airport so I can’t see my Melbourne friends this time around, but I’ll be back…) and we had a great first day yesterday. Now I have to start breaking my MS apart, chapter by chapter, scene by scene, page by page and line by line. In other words, I have my work cut out for me.

    xx

  4. Mike said,

    Just passing by.Btw, your website have great content!

    _________________________________
    Making Money $150 An Hour

  5. doctordi said,

    Welcome, Mike – and thanks!

Leave a Reply

