Zippity Do Da

May 1, 2009 at 4:18 am (Uncategorized)

I get giddy about this town sometimes, and today is one of those days. What. A. Perfect. Day. I woke up with a spring in my step, and outside the most stunning autumn morning awaited. I had ants in my pants, so I went for a long run, and it was one of those mornings when, while running, I spontaneously exclaimed – yes, cried out, to myself – one of several variations of “This place is incredible!” It’s just beautiful, that’s all. One of those days when I’m simply and truly glad to be alive to see it. The Pacific is reasonably calm, the waves are modestly sized and the bombora has temporarily vanished from view. It’s that piercing bright blue today, until you’re in it, and then it’s so clear you can see sand drifting in little patterns at the bottom, the occasional tiny shell rolling one way and then back, almost as though it were having trouble deciding which way to go.  The sky is dusted with streaky white clouds but is otherwise a soft powder blue. It is limitless. And the sun, oh the sun, the gentle autumn sun. So different to the burning intensity of our summer romance, now the mood is companionable and my appreciation more mature. It warms my happy face, and I see it warming the tilted faces of other people too. It’s so gladdening, a day like today. 

Down at Shelley Beach, wedding guests were milling in their finery before a morning ceremony on the sand. I turned around to start the return lap, grinning wildly this way and that, hoping to spy the bride even knowing it was too soon, and I was sooo close to stopping a guest to say, “Oh, what a gorgeous day for the bride and groom!” – in the end I didn’t, because there was no need. It’s exactly what they were all saying among themselves. What a beautiful environment for such an optimistic occasion. I ran on, happy and hopeful for a couple I don’t know and didn’t even manage to see. 

After my swim – and if there must be rituals in this life, then let falling into the ocean be mine – I threw on a sundress and walked back down the beachfront to the village to run a couple of errands. I went to my favourite cafe to get a takeaway coffee, but it was all so inviting I decided to sit and watch the passing parade just a little while longer. When it came time to pay, the barista didn’t have change and told me it was on the house. Then, walking home, an elderly lady walking in the opposite direction stopped me and said “That’s such a beautiful dress. It sparkles as you walk.” My face just about split in two. “Why thank you!” I said. “And may I say you’re looking very lovely in that purple yourself.” 

If that’s not enough to make a girl want to click her heels and sing Zippity Do Da, then I don’t know what is.

7 Comments

  1. Grad said,

    Drink it in – breathe it deep – you deserved it.

  2. Lilian Nattel said,

    Oh yes–wonderful day!

  3. doctordi said,

    Grad, Lilian, I positively feasted on it. Pig. Swill. You know the drill.

  4. David said,

    I felt better just reading this post. And there is something so lovely about compliments from elderly ladies … I don’t know why, but they’re always the best. I’d rather have a compliment from a nice old lady than from a hot woman my own age.

  5. doctordi said,

    Yes, exactly! I’m so with you, David. Her elegant, white-haired elderliness was a big part of why it felt like the best compliment I’d ever received in my whole entire life. I don’t know why it is. I guess it harks back to a pretty basic parent-child dynamic. Kids try so hard to impress and please, and are so needy of constant approbation, so much so that learning a new word becomes cause for endless rounds of parental applause…or grandparental, in this case. All I know is I felt like a million bucks afterwards.

  6. litlove said,

    What a happy post – could you bottle this and sell it, do you think? I’d certainly buy some!

  7. doctordi said,

    I wish… I’d store it up and break out emergency bottles in the dead of winter…

Leave a Reply

