The Invite and the Image

May 11, 2009 at 11:11 pm (Uncategorized)

If you click here, you will see the AKIRA invite Marcelo did for my 25th birthday – so many, many moons ago! You just have to scroll down to see the full page. Having never shown my face on DoctorDi, I have slightly mixed feelings about doing this, but it’s kind of perfect, too, as this both is and very obviously isn’t me. To my blogging friends, I don’t know that I’ll get a better opportunity than this to reward your very polite curiosity about what I look like. It’s cheating, I know, but it’s also quite fun, I think, and I suspect you’ll agree. 

The Darklings have been in conference about whether or not I should pursue the images for the manuscript at all. C voiced her concerns, J followed, and so naturally I gave the matter even more thought, and tried to assuage their doubts and fears about the impact on the MS and its chances of ever seeing the light of day. The main thing I hope I expressed to them and want to express to you is that my MS stands without these images. I view them as a potential enhancement, as I said to the Darklings, ‘a very nice to have.’ But were I to ultimately abandon the idea, the MS won’t fall apart. It is intact, a thing in itself. And I think that’s important.

The other thing I perhaps hadn’t articulated until C expressed her doubts was that I am currently exploring the idea, and I can’t make an informed decision about the potential impact of images – for better or worse – until I see some. At the moment it’s all in my mind. I may take one look at an initial sketch and realise it’s a terrible idea, unworkable, disastrous, but I have to be able to view the sketch in the first place in order to make that determination. I suspect these images will actually serve the story very well, but I could be wrong. The only way to find out is to pursue the idea.

There’s a clear cost risk involved, and as I can barely rub two beans together at the moment, I am not planning to commission artwork lightly, I assure you. But I do think it is an investment I need to make, so I’m very glad I’ve just been commissioned myself. I have to write three articles this week, and they will go some way toward paying Marcelo or whoever else eventually agrees to the project. Thank you, freelance fairies…

I’ve given all this so much thought. If you had read my thesis (and of course no one but the three examiners have submitted to that particular hell), you would know that in some sense I have been working toward this collaboration for many years. The relationship between words and images and the additional meaning created by the gap between them is a fundamental preoccupation of mine. I think one of the reasons the Darklings became so concerned is that this is not something I articulate in so many words. But it’s there in the text, this embedded principle, and exploring that space is one of my core creative imperatives. I wouldn’t necessarily think to say that to other people, it’s just part of how I think, so obvious to me that I sometimes forget it needs saying. It’s made me reflect upon the people I’ve been most drawn to in my life, and, aside from those who compulsively write and/or read, it’s definitely been artists. I’m fascinated by the way they use space to create meaning. The composition of a painting, the shock of a room-sized installation, the play of sculpture in unexpected places – all these things fascinate me. All that potential for humour, surprise and, what it all comes down to, human expression. And images are the basis of my comic artist character’s expression. He speaks in pictures. Wouldn’t I be doing him a great disservice to ignore his gentle pleading? Shouldn’t I at least “hear” him out by looking for someone who “speaks” the same tongue, and so may be able to help me collapse the gap between their language and mine? I think I should. I want to know what else he has to say that on my own I can’t quite hear.

p.s. I forgot to say how much I value the candour of the other Darklings. It’s not easy speaking up about important differences of opinion, and I appreciate their honest response to my ideas absolutely. We won’t always agree, but that’s all right. We don’t need to. But we do need to be totally free with each other – and it’s that transparency and constructive criticism you just can’t put a price on.

15 Comments

  1. Lilian Nattel said,

    It’s your book. I think that you can trust yourself to explore whatever avenues you feel you should.

  2. doctordi said,

    And that’s really what it comes down to, Lilian. It is my book, and I do trust my instincts. I really appreciate and have benefited enormously from the feedback of others, but the final decision will be mine.

  3. litlove said,

    I think you really want to try this and there’s no reason I can see why on earth you shouldn’t. I thought that text plus images was a really cutting edge thing to do these days (cf Marianne Wiggins and Sebald, oh and Carol Shields’ Stone Diaries and Javier Marias’ All Souls – marvellous books one and all).

    But I’m having a tantrum here – I can’t see the image!!! The link takes me to a PDF form page that I need a password to access. Help!

  4. doctordi said,

    Really? It’s fine for me… and I know others have been able to see it, because C just told me she can’t see the resemblance!!!!! More on that tomorrow. I actually think there’s a post in it. Anyway, try this:
    https://doctordi.files.wordpress.com/2009/05/akira-invite.pdf

  5. litlove said,

    Still no!!! Ummm, I might try to access it on a different computer. Maybe this one has a cookie (whatever that is in computer terms) in the way. I’ll try elsewhere and get back to you. How frustrating!

  6. doctordi said,

    Eat the cookie, Litlove, eat that cookie!!

  7. doctordi said,

    Hey, I think a couple of PDF sites have somehow hijacked the link. When I look at my blog stats, I can see some people have been directed to something that’s nothing to do with me:

    pdfescape.com and shots.snap.com – how can this be??

    Some people are getting through to the invite, though, so let me know how you go on another computer. Weird… and well beyond my tech know-how.

  8. Pete said,

    Haha – you look very animated! Nice weapon 😉

    As for the creative interplay of words and images, you put that very well. Makes me think of spaces (and gaps and all that stuff). Cool that your character is a comic artist.

  9. charlotteotter said,

    I found the image and it’s fabulous. If you do go for images, they will be powerful. How wonderful that you have such a great forum for discussing your writing.

  10. Grad said,

    I was able to pull up the invite! I love it. It must have been some party! And you look marvelous. As far as the MS goes, follow your instincts and you won’t ever go far wrong.

  11. doctordi said,

    Oh good, I’m SO glad you girls got through… but I am really gnashing my teeth about Litlove not being able to view it – it was her idea to put it up in the first place!! A trifle unjust, really.

    Charlotte, I’m not sure if you mean my blogging friends or the Darklings, but you’re right in either case. I feel soooo lucky to have both forums for discussing writing, it is a dream come true.

    Grad, it was a great night! After having the audacity to send out an invite like that, it sure as hell needed to be!

  12. Pete said,

    Hey Di, you missed my comment (spam again) but I was saying that you looked very animated (haha) and that I was impressed at the weaponry. I say go for the images if it’s all possible. Would love to read a snippet of the MS but I suppose I can wait!

  13. doctordi said,

    More spamming of your comments, Pete?! This is getting tiresome! Can’t they DO SOMETHING about it?? It must be driving you mad. Very animated? Ha ha, that’s funny!

  14. litlove said,

    And finally, I join the party. You look FABULOUS!

  15. Rosario said,

    After you have washed your Sonicare toothbrush, dry it using a dry towel or tissue and then position it on its rechargeable base.
    Each person might prefer the different features that
    come with the toothbrush; there are many models to choose from so you can
    choose one that best fits your needs. Another
    really awesome fact about the Sonicare electric toothbrushes is the fact that after your charge it,
    the Sonicare electric toothbrushes can last for up to two weeks with being charged again.

Leave a Reply

