Could This Be True?

June 25, 2009 at 11:00 pm (Uncategorized)

There are all these reports coming through that Michael Jackson has died… could it be true? Well, yes. People die of cardiac arrest all the time; it’s one of if not the number one killer in Australia. But Michael Jackson? Dead? Really?

I have so many fond memories of Michael Jackson’s music accompanying me as I was growing up. His were some of the very first albums I ever owned, and I loved them. In fact, I loved him. Yes, it’s true. Michael was mine. I was even prepared to overlook the red leather and the natty white socks. He could sing, he could dance, he could make my young toes tap like no one before or since has ever been able to do. There’s something special about someone who just makes you want to dance.

Oh, I know what came next, all the weirdness and whiteness, and I don’t really recognise that guy as the hero of my youth. This latter day Michael Jackson has just always struck me as so sad and lonely, not my magical music man at all. And certainly not the beautiful bopping boy whose voice lights up every Jackson Five track I know and still really love. I guess it’s a little  like when Dorothy peeps behind the curtain and finds that Oz is just this wizened, eccentric loner – maybe that was the truth about Michael Jackson all along. But I’ve always chosen not to believe that. I’ve always kept a spot on the dance floor reserved especially for him, should he ever return.

I’m so sad to think this report may be true, and the Prince of Pop may be dead. How awful and how premature. I always hoped he’d get his groove back, because his was a true and pure kind of talent you just don’t see every day. Michael Jackson.

POSTSCRIPT: No, not a publicity stunt or a false report or a false alarm. Wow. Michael Jackson is dead. Michael. Jackson. Michael Jackson. And the first of the emails have started to arrive. Here’s one Llew got from a colleague: ‘Michael Jackson has died of a suspected heart attack. Some doctors blame it on his diet and lifestyle, but I just blame it on the boogie.’

6 Comments

  1. charlotteotter said,

    Tragic. With Michael Jackson and Farah Fawcett dying on the same day, I am starting to feel terribly old. And sad.

  2. doctordi said,

    Charlotte, I am SO SAD. I didn’t even know I’d be as sad as I am. It’s decided this evening’s play list at Chez J, that’s for sure.

  3. litlove said,

    I’ve just woken up to the news over here – it does seem quite incredible. Poor Michael Jackson. I read that tribute from his bodyguard that said he was the most misunderstood man in the world. They’d dress him up so that no one could recognise him and take him out shopping occasionally, so he’d have a taste of ‘normal’ life. However must that be?

  4. Grad said,

    Was he ever happy? I don’t know. It doesn’t seem so. So sad.

  5. Pete said,

    Very sad. But I couldn’t help smiling at that joke: “the authorities have ruled out the sunshine, the moonlight and the good times. Now they’re blaming it on the boogie.” I hope that MJ would have smiled at that. Man. End of an era.

  6. doctordi said,

    Litlove, it was weird being in Australia and having it be first thing in the morning and realising that much of the world was sleeping, as you were, through the first ripple of it… It’s one of those crazy things about time zones because it almost feels like things aren’t happening there because your time is behind – like Michael Jackson was somehow still alive while all of England slept. Do you know what I mean??

    Grad, I am so sorry to say it doesn’t look like it, does it? Even when he was singing some of the happiest songs ever it seems he was a desperately unhappy little boy, so the whole story is just bleak but for that wonderful gift of music.

    Pete, I know. That’s my favourite too. All those other hideous ones about children just aren’t funny and never will be. And of course I’m not naive enough to imagine it’s not possible, but it just always struck me as totally unlikely. He seemed too much like a wounded child himself (and I know they say that victims of abuse are likelier to become abusers themselves, but still. He got pretty weird, true, but a predator? I hope not, I really, really hope not). It sure is the end of an era. Such a sad story.

Leave a Reply

