Date Night

July 10, 2009 at 8:46 am (Uncategorized)

Well, I haven’t abandoned my post, I’ve just been doing what I’m supposed to be doing, which is working on my manuscript. The rekeying is going well, if slowly. Put it this way: no one is hiring me as a typist anytime soon. I think it’s also slow going because I keep having to change things, and of course I’m also making decisions all the time about what to keep and what to cull. It’s turning into a very bloody sport. One good thing about the number of drafts I’ve done is how completely pragmatic I feel about slashing whole pages of text. Once they’re gone, I don’t give them a second thought. Ta ta. Nice knowing you. It is a bit cold, I grant you, but you can’t dwell on these things. It doesn’t help.

L arrived a little behind schedule this morning, but still managed to get here despite a hideous work schedule and a big PR campaign. She knocked out another 1,400 words today, so less than she’s been doing, but not bad considering this time the phone calls wouldn’t stop and couldn’t wait. I think she’s doing really well. I also received a very exciting text from Darkling C: she hammered out a draft of chapter 10 today. Brilliant! She loaded the text with all sorts of qualifiers, but I say we worry about the fine print later and just send on the dancing boys for now. God knows we’ve earned a little half-time entertainment.

Which reminds me. Date night. I have to run because I am meeting my lovely husband down at the wharf. Our budget bites the big one at the moment, so date night is going to have to be fairly creative, but even on a dime it’s still our night of the week to say, “Hello,” to each other and ignore everyone else in the world. It’s always a nice start to the weekend, and so I must away. Enjoy your own break from the madding crowd, and I’ll see you Monday.

5 Comments

  1. Pete said,

    Your Friday sounds like it was very productive. Have a lovely weekend and look forward to hearing about the creative date night on Monday.

  2. Lilian Nattel said,

    Sounds like a good day and date night is just the ticket. Our date nights these days are holding hands while watching a movie on the tube. It works. BTW slashing text is a necessary skill. Here’s my record of the book I’m working on:
    Draft 1 new (of course)
    Draft 2 new
    Draft3-4 reworking
    Draft 5 new
    Draft 6 new
    Draft 7 reworking
    Draft 8 more of a reworking than 7

    I figure if you can keep anything from a previous draft you’re laughing.

  3. Grad said,

    Llew is a far better date than mine is. I have a date with some spackle and my electric sander. Have fun.

  4. davidrochester said,

    Getting ruthless with the manuscript is a good sign … it’s hard to work on a piece when you’re still wary of hurting its feelings.

  5. doctordi said,

    Pete, I’m afraid I have to confess that we weren’t so creative in the end. We blew the budget, very much as per…

    Lilian, thanks for sharing that record of redrafting! It’s so encouraging seeing yours, an established novelist’s, and realising it is just the lay of the land we’re all trying to traverse.

    Grad, we have to do something about your dates…

    David, I figure I can’t hurt its feelings if I just beat it to death.

Leave a Reply

