Thank God It’s Friday

October 2, 2009 at 9:16 am (Uncategorized)

I’ve just spent the past few hours sweating over the maiden post for the Varuna Alumni blog… it’s due Sunday, and I know we’re about to have one of those weekends when everything goes arse-up – I can feel it in the wind, rain and plummeting temperature as surely as I can feel on the arid plains of my face that I need all the collagen soup in existence –  so I thought I’d do myself this one small favour and draft the post now. I’m glad I did. It just eases the tension in my neck. That tension has another name: acute procrastination syndrome.

Why are writers such awesome procrastinators? Or is it that absolutely everyone procrastinates and writers just talk and write about it because that’s what we do? I have two big freelance deadlines breathing down my neck, and do you think I did what I should have done today? No. I did not. I was sort of…. paralysed. This happens sometimes, mostly when I really need to get a bomb under myself. I sit at my desk, and I mean to do it, I really do, but then something happens and I just sit here instead. So eventually I drafted my first post for the Varuna Alumni blog, and now I can declare today’s not been a total dead loss after all. Phew. It was touch and go for a while there.

But next week is going to be a shocker. I’ve got a lot of work to do, which is great, and I’ll be trying to keep up with everyone’s blogs and trying to keep up the daily posts on mine, but who am I kidding? This is a preparatory disclaimer, just in case. But wish me luck on Monday – I’ll let you know how it goes. Everyone take care, and have a good weekend.

14 Comments

  1. Lilian Nattel said,

    Good luck! Good going on getting the blog done. Yes, I think most people are procrastinators. Writers have the kind of job that lends itself to procrastinating because there are projects that have deadlines beyond today and because we work alone. Procrastination goes on in offices, too, but if you teach, for example, you have to at least show up in your classroom at the appointed time and do something.

    • doctordi said,

      That’s true, Lilian – some of my friends play cricket in the office, and Wii, and when I remind myself of that, I feel a bit better about my own dud days!

  2. Grad said,

    I procrastinate all the time in my personal life. Unfortunately, I can’t do it in my work because of the inherent deadlines. So, you see, that’s why it took me a year to repaint and refloor the smallest room in my house (the powder room) and why it took nearly 4 months for Nantucket Gray to show up in the kitchen. By the way, the powder room is painted in Sultan’s Palace. Don’t you love paint color names. Do you think they actually hire someone to think them up? What a fun job that would be.

    • Fugitive Pieces said,

      Sultan’s Palace? Do you have a tiger on a gem-studded chain in there?
      It is a gorgeous name – but what colour is it? (I imagine an airy flutter of your hand, and a “Oh, deepest ruby, dear one, with a hint of amethyst…”)

      • doctordi said,

        Good point, Fugitive. What colour is it? I’m seeing some hints of gold, although maybe that’s less Sultan’s Palace and more Sunset Bordello…

    • doctordi said,

      Graddikins, I love deadlines. I absolutely LOVE them. I need them, I invent them, and I respect them. And I am so in love with your house – you have a powder room painted in Sultan’s Palace?! That’s just the best thing ever. Previously the best thing ever was Nantucket Gray in the kitchen, but now the powder room takes the title. That really would be a fun job, naming paints. I’m sure the paint people get quite a giggle out of it.

  3. kate4samh said,

    Good luck, best wishes and lots of love : ) ! I hope the weekend exceeds your expectations too.

    • doctordi said,

      Thanks, Kate! The weekend… well, it’s Monday, and I survived!

  4. davidrochester said,

    Good luck on Monday. 🙂

    • doctordi said,

      Thanks, David! It’s up now, and I’m just hoping the butterflies abate.

  5. Fugitive Pieces said,

    Loving the preparatory disclaimer. It might be radio silence. It might not. That way, we’ll seize on anything you post here as an absolute BONUS.
    You’ll knock ’em dead, woman. The only form of procrastination you need to avoid is the “I’m not worthy” thing – everything else is harmless mulching, but that thought loop is like pouring weedkiller over your compost.
    Try a usefully brisk: “They wouldn’t have asked me to blog if they didn’t want to hear what I have to say.” (Best said in a Margaret Rutherford accent.) Or you can go for Katie Holmes’ awesome confidence on deciding, while still a child: “I think I’m going to marry Tom Cruise. Why not? He’ll like me. I’m fun.” Admittedly, an unfortunate choice of life goal, but we should all emulate such self-belief, no?
    Hmm. Well, I think it’s now clear why I’m not a motivational speaker…but still, go get ’em!

  6. doctordi said,

    Thanks, Fugitive! You do have to admire Katie’s follow-through factor… I mean, after Top Gun, I thought I wanted to marry Tom Cruise too, but that ambition had well and truly passed by Days of Thunder.

  7. Fugitive Pieces said,

    I might have been the only 11-year-old girl in the world who wanted Goose, not Maverick. But then my first crush was Captain von Trapp, followed by a secret yearning for Chewbacca. Taken as a triumvirate, this explains so much about my subsequent love life. Thank the goddess I don’t have Katie’s steely follow-through – oh, wait….

  8. doctordi said,

    No, I totally get that, Fugitive. I wanted Goose too, right up until he ended up dead, and then I sobbed in the cinema. Sad but true. Capt. von Trapp?? Say it isn’t so! Laughing at Chewbacca – I actually kind of know what you mean, but Han Solo was my main man… Luke? Please. No one liked Luke.

Leave a Reply

