Having a Week that Starts with a ‘C’ and Ends with a ‘T.’

October 7, 2009 at 7:35 am (Uncategorized)

All seems to be going well for this week’s maiden post over at the Varuna blog, which is more than I can say for the current state of affairs here at DoctorDi HQ. I won’t bore you with the details – actually, I have every intention of subjecting you to a blow-by-blow at a later date, I just can’t do it right now because I am on deadline and having a prick of a day – but I’ll be back as soon as possible to fill you in.

And just when I thought I’d absorbed all the noxious fumes in the atmosphere myself, it seems Llew too is having his own shocker on the other side of the harbour. It may be completely and utterly irrational, but I have an obscure sense that this pervasive air of negativity is somehow related to last Friday night’s ill-fated appeasement campaign, and now – on this admittedly baseless and paranoid reading – we’re being punished for not doing things well enough, often enough, and soon enough. I think the word is ‘beleaguered.’ Perhaps ‘harangued’ would also suffice. And shat off pretty well captures my present state of mind.

What was our phrase of the week? Oh yes. SCREW YOU, CHARLIE BUCKET. Hey, that almost works… and – incredibly – ‘Charlie Bucket’ also starts with a C and ends with a T, although in truth that’s not quite what I had in mind. Good to know, though, good to know. Especially in company. I must remember to scream “CHARLIE BUCKET” next time instead…

Hold that thought. I’ll be back. In the meantime, I sincerely hope everyone else is clicking their heels and whistling Dixie.

4 Comments

  1. Fugitive Pieces said,

    1. Chocolate. Now. The good stuff.
    2. Lethally precise use of invective. A soupçon of blasphemy often helps.
    3. Kick the soft furnishings. Not the hard bits.
    4. Refuse to believe that either of you is being punished, and acknowledge that the universe makes random allocation of shithouse days. That said, Screw You, Charlie Bucket! and your grandfather too.
    5. Hurl a teapot. I’ve never tried this, but my best friend swears by it. Apparently you can achieve almost supernatural levels of topspin if you grip it by the spout. Diagram to follow.

  2. litlove said,

    I can only refer back to the fugitive’s comment which is hilarious and spot on. Oh poor Di! (and Llew too, I feel as if I know him). Hugs to you while you are going through it, and here’s looking for the cloud of negativity to move on….

  3. Pete said,

    I agree. Charlie Bucket! I’m sure the negativity will pass and you’ll be whistling the Aussie equivalent of Dixie pretty soon. I would never hurl a teapot but I did have a dream about hurling a mug through a window! Good luck with the deadline and the next Varuna post.

  4. doctordi said,

    Thanks, Fugitive (and LL and Pete), all excellent options, although I can’t bear the idea of deliberately hurling a teapot – I love teapots!

Leave a Reply

