Sudden Perspective in the Worst Way

October 7, 2009 at 9:04 am (Uncategorized)

Many of you who read DoctorDi and the comment streams therein have, like me, come to know and love Grad, a.k.a ‘Graddikins,’ she of the Nantucket Grey kitchen and Sultan’s Palace powder room. I’ve just popped in to The Curious Reader because Grad’s gone all quiet in recent days, and I thought she might be saying something sweet that would lift me out of my self-involved petty doldrums, but instead I found my Graddikins heartbroken. There’s nothing to say except how very sorry I am that today she and her family are saying a last goodbye to her daughter’s sweetheart, or as Grad tells it: Robert Sanchez, Soldier, Patriot, and Friend, who was killed in Kandahar Province, Afghanistan on October 1, 2009.

May he rest in peace.

8 Comments

  1. Lilian Nattel said,

    Yes–it brings tears to my eyes and it does put things in perspective.

  2. Fugitive Pieces said,

    Thank you so much for bringing the sad news, Di. Our poor darling Grad…I plan on taking her advice and telling everyone I love them, immediately. xx

  3. kate4samh said,

    Grad’s posts were heartbreaking and eerily familiar. I don’t feel I can comment on her blog, so I will say this here for when Grad returns.

    Grad, I am so sorry for your family’s loss. There is no answer to the ‘Why?’ that would ever make sense of something so senseless. Look for the ‘Why’ in the time you had with him and in the lives that he touched, there are plenty of answers in that, and know that the love goes on.

  4. doctordi said,

    Just too awful, girls…when I think about Grad running out the door to meet her daughter when the car pulled up, I just well up. I wasn’t sure whether it was appropriate to say anything here or not, but I know everyone else is as attached to Grad as I am, in our strangely functional virtual community, and I don’t know, I kind of hope she’ll feel the embrace even if we can’t deliver it in person.

  5. litlove said,

    Oh how terrible! I wondered where Grad was but thought she was just busy with work. I’m not sure I can bear to read her post but I do want to give her every possible support. I can barely imagine what her poor poor family must be going through.

  6. Pete said,

    Oh no. I’m so sorry for Grad and her daughter. That poor guy.

  7. davidrochester said,

    Oh no — oh, no.

  8. doctordi said,

    Litlove, Pete, and David, I know, it’s just terrible.

Leave a Reply

