Talk About a Broken Record…

December 10, 2009 at 6:38 am (Uncategorized)

This is getting SOOO OLD – I just got an email naming the longlist of ten in the inaugural CAL Scribe prize (for an unpublished manuscript by an author over 35) and MS #1 is *not* on it. The subject line of the email built an awful false hope, saying simply ‘CAL Scribe Fiction Prize Longlist’ – couldn’t they have said Announcing?! Something, anything to avoid that subtle suggestion that I might have been receiving the email because I was actually on the list?! These things are so easily misconstrued by the desperate and hopeful! Anyway, my name isn’t there. Show’s over. Nothing more to see. Thanks for coming.

Bummer.

At least I’ve had a good couple of weeks working on MS #2, and at least I’ve spent the afternoon starting a short story I’ve been mulling over for a while. And at least it’s our wedding anniversary tomorrow, and at least Llewie loves me.

See you next week – I may have a brief sulk between now and then.

7 Comments

  1. litlove said,

    I’m so sorry to hear that! But I hope you have a wonderful wedding anniversary that makes you safe and happy in the knowledge that manuscripts come and go, but husbands last forever. 🙂

  2. Catherine said,

    Llewie’s not the only one who loves you.

  3. Lilian Nattel said,

    Those are some good at-least’s. I’m sorry about the disappointment. I know you’ll come back up after your sulk.

  4. Grad said,

    The real prize is your happy union with Llewie. What would many of us give for that? Well, you already know all that so no need for me to pontificate. Have a wonderful time! And as for the CAL Scribe list, you just go ahead and have yourself a nice sulk. We all need those every now and then – helps recharge the batteries. See ya next week, kiddo.

  5. Pete said,

    I agree about the wording. “Announcing” would have been sooo much better. Hope you guys have a lovely wedding anniversary. I’m just remembering your previous comment about the wedding and the whale was it? Good times.

  6. woo said,

    I agree, too. Fully justified in your sulk, IMHO.

    But excellent list of ‘at leasts’ 🙂

  7. doctordi said,

    THANKS GUYS. You’re the best pit crew ever – and this really *is* the pits!!!!

Leave a Reply

