A Question for Subscribers…

February 1, 2010 at 5:15 am (Uncategorized)

There’s only a few of you, but I’m curious: do you get an email with the original version of a post the second it’s uploaded on DoctorDi, or do you receive corrected and/or updated versions too? The reason I ask is that I occasionally make mistakes in the rush of typing the draft  – an accidental ‘your’ instead of ‘you’re’ in today’s post, for example – and I hate the idea of people receiving posts with these sloppy typos and outright errors in them. I like correcting posts once they’re up because I find the full screen sooo much easier to read than the small text box I get for drafting – the same box I’m using now, and let me tell you, its miniscule dimensions leave a lot to be desired – but I worry this means subscribers (very important folk who deserve my absolute best) end up getting the rawest deal of the lot. Is this what happens? I fear it is. So to those of you out there who do subscribe to DoctorDi, may I just say SORRY, I do correct posts after the fact for the reason stated above, but I do seriously regret that you see the work in the rough. I may have to change my modus operandi, because this is just the sort of thing that keeps me up at night.

5 Comments

  1. Lilian Nattel said,

    I don’t know the answer to that. But when your blog shows up in my reader, I always click through to the actual blog from the reader, so I’m reading whatever is the latest version at that point. Especially these days, I am not getting through my blogs until the end of the day or even the next day so there is lots of time for correction!

  2. litlove said,

    I don’t get emails to tell me you’ve posted – I have to check bloglines (and occasionally bloglines is NOT good and takes a while to let me know new posts are in, but that’s another matter). I’m pretty sure I get updates as they come in – but to be quite honest I’m really bad at noticing typos anyway!

  3. Norwichrocks said,

    I don’t get emails – I subscribe to the RSS feed, like Lilian, so when I check it and see there’s another post I click through and get the latest version. And I haven’t noticed any typos so far… 😉

  4. doctordi said,

    Right, thanks girls – I know one of my friends used to receive each post as an email, so it sounds like the RSS feed is different to actual subscriptions, which I think get the email version…. I have a few subscribers but don’t really know who they are… I’ll ask my friend – although it may get awkward if he’s no longer reading!!!

  5. Pete said,

    Also use Bloglines and click through to the actual post. But Bloglines has been showing no new posts from you for a couple of days now.

Leave a Reply

