Crisis Averted

March 29, 2010 at 8:31 am (Uncategorized)

Well, I’ll just say this: I won’t be taking any betting tips from Nurse T if I ever bump into her at Randwick Racecourse (a most unlikely scenario, I grant you, but you see my point). I’m glad she’ll never make it as a fortune teller, because I didn’t end up with a life-threatening case of OHSS, and I haven’t spent the past few days being treated in hospital. Sorry, Nurse T, but your days as a doomsayer are numbered.

Last Wednesday was the low point, and it was way down there. I haven’t felt that unwell since those ghastly, short-lived, and – I suspect – wrongly prescribed days on Clomid – ugh! In fact, that would make so much sense, because Clomid is a follicle stimulation drug, and since I have this whopping great oestrogen level/high egg reserve thing going on, I was probably unwittingly experiencing a mild and undiagnosed case of OHSS then too. I certainly felt quite similar, and as with emerging from the Clomid fog, on Thursday it was only being on the other side that allowed me to apprehend just how awful I’d been feeling in the days before. But that was the good news: I woke up Thursday, had a quick dip in the ocean, then came home and just sat there, very still and quiet, silently tuning into my body until a calm came over me as I realised that actually, I felt okay. Not a hundred percent, but getting there. Wednesday night marked the end of the medication run too, so clearly as soon as it was over, my body and mind started normalising almost immediately. I had a painful trigger injection Wednesday night (everything was tender and sore, so jabbing my abdomen with a fine needlepoint felt like I was stabbing myself with a carving knife), but by morning I no longer felt like crying with raging overtiredness and indignation.

Friday’s egg collection went off without a hitch. I woke up with a piece of tape stuck to my right palm with the number of eggs written in Texta in the centre: 15. Two more than last time. Once again I devoured everything they put in front of me once I woke up, then Llew arrived, we spoke to Dr P and then I was allowed to leave. I’ve been much more delicate internally this time round – much more. It’s really only today that I have been able to walk normally. I think my poor old ovaries took a serious beating back there. All those synthetically generated follicles really trashed da house. Anyway, we asked Dr P about what Nurse T had said about there probably being no fresh transfer this time because of the risk of my developing a deadly dose of OHSS, and he said no, we were good to go. That decision would be made around how I was feeling, and I was and am feeling okay. Right now I feel completely normal, so if things stay on track with the eggs, we’ll have a transfer on Wednesday.

So what’s happened with the 15 little suckers they pulled out of me on Friday? Well, by Saturday 11 had fertilised. By Sunday, all 11 had started dividing. This morning, 9 of those had divided into six distinct cells, which is what they need to do to qualify for the next round. Tomorrow’s update is seriously anyone’s guess. It’s an encouraging start, and we are duly optimistic, but things kept changing right up until the last minute in round one, when we started with 13 and ended up with two. And the first and “best” of those two was transferred fresh and didn’t work, so I am not counting any eggs (as it were). One thing’s for damn sure: I won’t be asking Nurse T to set the odds or place my bets.

18 Comments

  1. kate said,

    Yay! for the eleven that have made it this far! Go, little cells, go!! All very symbolic too, being Easter and all 🙂 And Yay! for you too, for enduring and prevailing in spite of wicked Nurse T and her prophecy of doom.

  2. doctordi said,

    Nine have made it into the next round, Kate, not eleven, but yes, a big yay for them! Oh yes, I hadn’t thought of that (you know me, godless, beyond saving…), but you’re quite right – I’ll mention the Easter egg symbolism to Llewie when he gets home, I’m sure it’ll tickle his fancy!

    Yes, let that be a sunnier message for others out there going through the same thing: medical practitioners do know what they’re talking about, but that doesn’t mean they’re always right.

  3. kate said,

    Sorry Di, never had a head for numbers. I’m completely godless too and wasn’t necessarily thinking religion; just lots and lots of eggs and bunnies multiplying.

    • doctordi said,

      I knew that!!! I just meant I’d *completely* forgotten about Easter this year. How I managed that given all the chocolate for sale, I really don’t know, but it clean slipped my mind.

  4. Lilian Nattel said,

    I’m so glad things have turned out better this round than Nurse T predicted. 🙂

    • doctordi said,

      Me too – although let’s face it, that was never going to take much!!!

  5. Grad said,

    We missed you and I am so happy you sound well and fit. Will be thinking of you on Wednesday.

    • doctordi said,

      Thanks, Graddikins, I missed you too. Yep, back in the saddle!

  6. litlove said,

    Am VERY glad to read that crisis was averted and that you are, in fact, right on course. Good luck! Here’s hoping that all will go fantastically well over the next few days. Or even just well – that would do, wouldn’t it?

    • doctordi said,

      Yes, LL, even just well is good enough for me. But it really does feel like some kind of sadistic game show at times, even though it’s not a contest, just something we’re going through one day at a time. Well enough will do just fine, thanks!

  7. Norwichrocks said,

    Go those nine little heroes (or heroines!)! Here’s wishing they keep dividing and doing their cellular thang 🙂

    And I hope your sore insides continue to recover from the battering they’ve taken over recent weeks. Taking it easy, that’s the way. Allow your body to spend its energy reserves on healing and preparing for next week’s transfer.

    Thinking of you x

    • doctordi said,

      Thanks, NR. Let’s hope the little groovers get jiggy with it.

  8. Fugitive Pieces said,

    Possibly it was a mistake to look at a picture of a simnel cake before reading your post/comments…I now have metaphorically scrambled eggs and a sense of confusion about how many apostles there were. Go me and my High Church upbringing.
    (And thanks to Woo, all I can imagine now is cells boogeying frantically in a mirror-walled test tube. Shake your groove thang, little cells! Make more of yourselves!)

    Crossing my fingers VERY HARD for you and Llew. I hope there’s going to come a day when you can both tell your child just how much you wanted them.
    xx

  9. Samantha said,

    Well done Di! In spite of the OHSS, an excellent outcome so far.

    Best wishes,

    Samantha

    • doctordi said,

      Thanks, Sam. Well, at least we got to the only outcome they can help us with… the transfer. The rest is back in the mystery rink, skidding wildly on the ice of the great unknown.

  10. davidrochester said,

    Cheers for the nine! And so glad you were able to do the collection this time ’round, despite the death threat from Nurse Doom. Geez.

  11. doctordi said,

    I know, David, me too – happy little camper, wasn’t she?!

Leave a Reply

