And it’s Labor!

September 7, 2010 at 5:49 am (Uncategorized)

Oh, the relief. Labor, the Greens, and a couple of Independents will form our new government, and Tony Abbott is NOT Australia’s next Prime Minister. Now that’s what I call good news. Phew!!!!! That was way too close for comfort. Oh wow, I am just soooo relieved. I sincerely believe Abbott is no statesman, and simply not up to the task of leading the nation.

I need to go outside and hug a stranger.

Okay, so we have a government. Now let’s see what they all do next.

6 Comments

  1. Pete said,

    Yay! Going over to the SMH now to read all about it.

    • doctordi said,

      Yay indeed – it’s a huge relief, and it’s going to be super interesting watching how this little social experiment works out. Will Labor be able to play nicely with the other kiddies? I wonder – they certainly don’t play nicely among themselves.

      For your future reference, Pete, I’d try ABC (abc.net.au) next time for Australian news – that SMH website has gone to the dogs.

  2. plumbean said,

    how wonderful. i love that you expect statesmanship. that is something the us has only just realized is valuable. i hope you found a lovely stranger to hug!

    • doctordi said,

      I really do expect statesmanship at that level, Priya. I guess perhaps that’s why I am so often so disappointed in the group portrait coming out of parliament!

      I hugged Llewie instead – and that worked out well!

  3. litlove said,

    Isn’t it a relief when politics falls out well? I’ll keep my fingers crossed that the new government make a decent hash of it.

    • doctordi said,

      Please do keep them tightly crossed, LL – we all have a long way to go.

Leave a Reply

