When the Babymoon is Over…

October 6, 2010 at 8:15 am (Uncategorized)

HI! How I’ve missed you all! Yes, we’re back, and today I’ve been working my way through a formidable list of immediately actionable items as well as wading through a rather daunting mountain of emails. Today’s post will, I fear, completely fail to satisfy anyone remotely interested in what I’ve been doing for the past fortnight and a bit, because you see it’s 7 pm and I’ve not started dinner. There’s so much to catch up on – all of your blogs, for a start – and so much to tell you that I hardly know where to begin.

So I’m going to cheat. Now, I promise my list will be under control tomorrow, and that I’ll write a nice long ‘make good’ post first thing in the morning, or at least as soon as I’m caught up on everyone else’s recent posts, but for now I’m going to take the woefully soft option, and end here with a link to the monthly feature I wrote for the Varuna Alumni News. It’s on rejection, and as you know, I’ve become something of an unwilling expert on the subject.

Here it is, in case you’re interested, and otherwise I’ll be back tomorrow. No, really. Truth is, I can’t wait to catch up!

9 Comments

  1. Deb said,

    Welcome back, Di and Baby J!

    • doctordi said,

      Thanks, Deb! Baby J is really getting BIG and ACTIVE now – definitely determined to make me as uncomfortable as possible!

  2. Grad said,

    Welcome home!! I started reading your feature on rejection but duty is calling and since I’m leaving early (Katharine’s last day of a wonderful visit back home) I’ve printed it off so I can finish it later. But just the first paragraphs are (no surprise) so clever! After you catch your breath tell us everything.

    • doctordi said,

      Graddikins! Thank you for my lovely letter! I am so glad Katharine’s visit was great – I hope and trust you’re both feeling all topped up and frothy as a result. I was determined to reply *LIVE* from the Babymoon; you’ll just have to wait and see if I succeeded…

  3. Lilian Nattel said,

    Welcome back! Your essay is witty and well written but I have one quibble. I don’t think it gets any easier. At least not for me!

    • doctordi said,

      Glad you enjoyed it, Lilian – but sorry you don’t agree on that very important count!! Then again, I think I’ve been rejected many more times than you, so I think that’s the difference, and one I hope you’ll continue to avoid!

  4. litlove said,

    Welcome back! I’m looking forward to reading your piece on rejection. I’m heading up for what will undoubtedly be a lengthy round of them over the next few months and will need solidarity!

    • doctordi said,

      Yep, I’m definitely your woman if that happens, LL, but I seriously doubt it will. Go get ’em, girl!

  5. Butler By The Sea said,

    The experience is nothing short of a second honeymoon, only this time you have more to celebrate than just each other. A little one is coming into your lives!

Leave a Reply

