Wellness

November 9, 2010 at 7:48 am (Uncategorized)

In what is fast becoming a recurring theme, I am officially pooped again. I suppose it may have something to do with being 34 weeks pregnant, but it still takes me slightly by surprise. I don’t think I fully appreciated my normal energy levels in the past; I’ll never take them for granted again. That is, if they ever return. Parents tell me – with sick glee, I might add, as though nothing on earth will give them greater pleasure than watching my life fall in a heap – that exhaustion is the overwhelming feature of my forthcoming change in status, shortly followed by fear and guilt. Glad we’ve got that sorted, then. Sounds tops.

Another freelance job came in yesterday afternoon, and the tight turnaround meant three phone interviews before the close of business yesterday, then transcribing all last night. This morning was spent writing the two articles, and after filing on schedule at midday, I headed downtown to Sydney Ultrasound for Women for the 34-week ‘foetal wellness’ scan. Llewie met me beforehand, and luckily this time we were seen close to the appointment time, so my full bladder didn’t become the crippling Waiting Room Crisis of the last visit.

All, I am very pleased and relieved to report, appears well. Baby J made life a bit difficult for J, the lady performing the ultrasound, because he or she decided to keep moving right throughout the examination, barely lying still long enough for J to record the necessary measurements and images. Before we began I mentioned we were leaving the sex of the baby a surprise, so J instructed us to close our eyes – “I’m serious, close them, and don’t open them again until I say” – for that part of the ultrasound. When she suggested Llew and I might gaze at each other instead, I said, “No chance – he’s incapable of that when there’s any sort of screen in the room.” Llew laughed heartily at that one, no doubt because it’s so bloody well true.

The images are a bit dodgy – Baby J’s all squashed in there, and in one shot looks more like a demonic lion cub than a cute little human bundle – but it was still lovely to see him or her squirming around in there, ribcage, brain, heart, kidneys and all, weighing in at about 2.9 “totally average” kilos. And the cord? Working most obligingly, and not coiled around Baby J’s little neck. Hallelujah. Also it looks like my placenta has moved well out of the way, so assuming all goes well on the day, that clears me for a tilt at natural labour. In other words, things couldn’t have gone any better. No wonder I felt my first surge of maternal pride.

14 Comments

  1. Lilian Nattel said,

    Great news, Di.

    So let me get this–you’re surprised because you’re pooped after 3 interviews, transcribing (did you get any sleep?), writing the articles in the morning and heading in for an ultrasound? Oh, and as an aside, this is while 34 weeks pregnant? (I won’t even bring up age!) Dear Lord girl, you are a bundle of energy.

    • doctordi said,

      Did I get any sleep? Did I ever! I was wiped out!

  2. Grad said,

    I agree with Lilian. You are doing marvelously in the energy department. But try to get as much rest as possible right now, you will need all your reserves. Thrilled beyond words that you, & Llew & baby are doing well. Any chance of our reading your article?

    • doctordi said,

      Unlikely on the article front, Graddikins – they don’t tend to upload Special Reports on the News Ltd site. This one is for the forthcoming Gluten Free Food Show – something I didn’t know existed until Monday – and I’ve just got two small pieces within that. But the latest Varuna feature is up, if you have an interest in second drafts?!

      I am resting, don’t worry. I’ve been writing with my feet up the entire pregnancy!

  3. adminsmit said,

    Wonderful times! The tiredness is ok slows you down – lots of time to smell the roses!
    Will be thinking of you – the first half pregnancy takes you to 36 weeks – the other half is the short period after that!

    • doctordi said,

      That is very kind of you, adminsmit, thanks! It’s nice to be on the downhill run, although the sentiment I am hearing most often is, “Enjoy your freedom while you still can.”

  4. Fiona Wood said,

    It sounds like you’re doing so well, Di. I’m sure your friends are well-intentioned re the ‘tired’ warnings. It can feel a bit like sleepwalking for a while. Email me if your baby cries after feeding and I’ll give you the gastric reflux low-down (they don’t always vomit, so it can be a tricky diagnosis) lol

    • doctordi said,

      Oh yes, Fiona, absolutely – I know it’s well-intentioned. I think it’s an expression of solidarity, not malice, when people keep saying, “Just you wait,” shaking their heads all the while… Llew and I have lost count of the number of people who have said this to us, separately and together!

      Thanks – I’ll definitely take you up on that (although I’m hoping Baby J will take after his or her parents in the iron gut department…)!

  5. Fiona Wood said,

    And by lol I refer to inadvertently having added to the doomy gloomies, but it’s all fine, even the zombie stage and, forgive the cliche, it does race by in such a blink.

    • doctordi said,

      Well, it IS pretty funny that all roads lead to cautionary tales from voices of experience – and part of that is definitely that no one has figured out how to slow it all down. I hope I remember and manage to enjoy my zombie state.

  6. litlove said,

    Yay! So glad all is well with the baby. Scans are great.

    • doctordi said,

      Thanks, Litlove! Yes, I’m a Scan Fan from way back!!!

  7. davidrochester said,

    So glad to hear that all is well. Doom and prophecy will be a part of your life from now on. The only way it could be worse is if you had a relative who is a pediatrician. One of my friends has a pediatrician mom, who calls after every class or conference to make sure her grandchildren aren’t exposed to or suffering from whatever the paranoid flavor of the day is. Yeesh.

    • doctordi said,

      Oh god, I would HATE that. I’d actually have to say, “Enough with that – keep it in the office.” What a shortcut to full-blown paranoia. And thank you! We’re pretty glad about it too!

Leave a Reply

