And Then There Were Three

December 1, 2010 at 6:52 am (Uncategorized)

Well, I wasn’t shortlisted in the ABR short story competition, and I wasn’t awarded an ASA mentorship, but I am the new mother of a very impatient, four-week-early little boy of voracious appetite, so I ask you: who cares?! Competitions, awards, prizes – I think I just won the lot.

You’ll be pleased to know there is a cracking birth story to mark Baby J’s early arrival, and I’ll share it just as soon as we have decompressed and found a rhythm I can already just about glimpse. This is Day 6. We came home yesterday and survived that first unsupervised night pretty well unscathed, and every 24 hours has thus far proven to be its own epic adventure. Llew and I love each other, and now we love him too.

Baby J has yet to be named – we’re still catching up to the stunning fact of his existence – but I think he shall stay Baby J on this blog. The little man is entitled to some privacy, after all. He has his own path to carve.

I won’t make any ridiculous, doomed-to-fail promises about when I’ll next post on DoctorDi, but I will do my utmost to check in with you all soon, because I do really, really want to tell you just what happened last week. In the meantime, it’s safe to say my writerly curiosity about different birthing modes was more than… er… satisfied.

Thank you all so much, truly, for sharing the last 8 months of his gestation with me, with us – all the hopes and well wishes have delivered a beautiful little new person who looks very much like an old soul. As one of the nurses noted on Monday, “Oh, he’s been here before.” Lucky us.

 

29 Comments

  1. Samantha said,

    Oh Di, I’m so happy for you both. Congratulations!

    I look forward to reading your story about the birth and do hope that you include it at your blog.

    I’m now 22 weeks and all is going well.

    Much love to you,

    Samantha

    • doctordi said,

      Thanks, Samantha – and thank you so much for your surprise parcel, that was incredibly thoughtful of you and much appreciated – a proper thank you to follow once I get hold of some stationery!!!

      I’m just THRILLED to see the weeks adding up on your own journey – it’s simply fantastic, and I couldn’t be happier for you. Delighted to know it’s going well and eagerly awaiting the arrival of your own little friend. xxx

  2. Fugitive Pieces said,

    WOO-HOOOOOOOOO! The Disco Baby has landed!
    I am so, so happy for you both – and if he’s been here before, then he’ll know he’s fallen on his feet. Better parents it’s hard to imagine.
    Much love to you all. xxx

    • doctordi said,

      Aw, thanks, Fugitive – we are certainly going to give it our all!! And since he’s done us the honour of choosing us, we’d better make it good!

  3. Paddy said,

    Congrats Di!

    All the best to the three of you!

    • doctordi said,

      Thanks, Paddy!! There are moments when I can’t quite believe he’s really here!

  4. charlotteotter said,

    Oh my god! He’s here! Your post has me dripping tears of joy!

    Congrats to the three of you and all love and luck in your lives together. You are right: the safe, healthy delivery of your own gorgeous child is the biggest prize of all.

    Well done you!

    (Looking forward to the birth story – and more tears!)

    • doctordi said,

      Charlotte, my sentiments exactly! Oh my god! He’s here! And I’ve shed quite a few happy tears myself (prefacing blubbering phone calls to Llew from hospital with things like, ‘Don’t panic when you get this message, these are happy tears…’).

      Safe and healthy – that’s all that counts and ends up being so much more of everything!

  5. Pete said,

    That’s fantastic, Di!! I’m so happy for you and Llew and Baby J!! Am tearing up here in Sudan just thinking about it. Will look forward to hearing all about him in due course. Congratulations!!

    • doctordi said,

      Pete, I am so excited for you knowing your own experience is just around the corner. I’m glad I didn’t even try ‘preparing’ – I don’t personally believe there was any preparation possible for what has come to pass, and if I liked surprises before, I am really in love with them now! Thanks, buddy – and here’s to your own countdown.

  6. Fiona Wood said,

    What lovely news, Di! Congratulations, well done, big hugs X

    • doctordi said,

      Thanks so much, Fiona! He’s positively edible. We’re definitely keeping him.

  7. litlove said,

    Oh what wonderful news!! Many, many congratulations, dear Di. Sending you much love and happiness and hopefully a little sleep over the next few weeks! xoxo

    • doctordi said,

      Thanks, Litlove! And thanks for the special delivery of slumber, too – it arrived on the third night home after two shockers, during which I was so deranged and overtired I actually hallucinated. But he’s been pretty damn good since, although I think HE thinks he’s still in utero, so I don’t expect it’ll last!

  8. Grad said,

    Whoopeeeeeee!!! There will be celebration in Savannah, GA today as I raise a glass to you and Llewie and your son. Congratulations, dearest friends. If I could, I’d wrap you all (or y’all) up in a huge hug.

    • doctordi said,

      Thanks, Graddikins – I think your hugs safely made it over here, as there’s certainly been a blanket of good feeling over the entire experience so far. I’d love to raise a glass myself, but I’m afraid that just for the time being, I can’t quite muster the energy!!

  9. Mark Welker said,

    Well I struck out on all three counts! Congratulations Di.

    • doctordi said,

      Commiserations, Mark – when Cate Kennedy is picking up the second prize, one realises one never stood a chance!!! As for the mentorships, I’ll be interested to learn more of the recipients. Meanwhile, onwards. I hope you’re not too disappointed – I’m safely encased in my happy hormones and haven’t felt a thing!

  10. socksinmypocket said,

    Many congratulations! That is wonderful news.

    • doctordi said,

      Thanks, socksinmypocket – he was born two weeks ago today, and I think wonderful is the word!

  11. Lilian Nattel said,

    OMG! WOW!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! That is wonderful wonderful wonderful news. I am so happy for you, Di. And curious as all get out! But I shall just remain curious and smiling thinking of you all.

    • doctordi said,

      Thanks, Lilian – I can just about hear the squeal from Toronto, and it really puts a smile on my own face! I have been TRYING to find a time to at least scrawl ‘Part One,’ but between visitors, phone calls, feeds, trying to sleep and get outside at least once a day, I can confirm there is only 24 hours in a day, and not one second more – I’ve never been more conscious of time in my life. Anyway, I *will* get this story written!!!

  12. davidrochester said,

    OMG OMG OMG!!!!!!!!!!!!!! What wonderful news! Congratulations to you and your new little family.

    • doctordi said,

      Thanks, David – were you in the birthing suite…?! I think there were a few ‘oh my gods’ on the day!!!!

  13. Jodie said,

    Late, but BIG congratulations on having safely delivered your lad. Good luck with new parenthood and tons of happiness to you all.

    • doctordi said,

      Kind of nice to have SOMETHING arrive late around here, Jodie! All this early bird stuff is exhausting! And thanks – love and luck seem both to be required!

  14. Grad said,

    Come back as soon as you can and tell us all about it. (But get your rest).

    • doctordi said,

      Graddikins, I am trying, believe me – I just need a day without visitors, I think, but I suspect it’ll be a little while yet before I get one, so I will have to snatch some minutes somewhere because I really don’t want a single detail to slip from my memory. Rest. That would also be good.

  15. plumbean said,

    congratulations! how thrilling! i hope all three of you are happy and healthy and warm! xoxp

Leave a Reply

