Now, Where Were We…?

January 12, 2011 at 12:55 am (Uncategorized)

Apologies for the lengthy delay between posts, my friends (and sorry to worry you, Graddikins – we are not flood affected, but feeling very concerned for all who are as it’s pretty alarming stuff) – belatedly, Happy New Year! All is well, it’s just that between Baby J, Llew, family and friends, I quite literally haven’t had a chance to write – not this post, and nothing else either. It’s starting to make me feel absolutely crazy, and I am currently sitting on the floor in my underwear, post-feed, beside Baby J (who’s presently deciding whether to sleep or resist, a debate that rages every few hours with ever shifting odds), madly scrambling to at least get this post started…

I had hoped to be able to master writing while feeding – in what would surely be a virtuoso display of female efficiency – but that hasn’t been possible as I am having terrible trouble with my wrists, and therefore completely unexpected issues picking him up and even holding him during feeds. Just now I had to flop him on his back onto a pillow and then pull it around into position as though he were on a toboggan. Not ideal, and the alternative genuinely painful. We are currently investigating alternative feeding pillows – I think the trouble started with the original, specially designed product, and I am currently using a regulation pillow off our bed. Who knew such a thing as ‘mother’s wrist’ existed? Not me. But I am uncomfortably acquainted with it now.

So I’m sorry to say all those hours of feeding a day are currently a temporal dead-end – I’m not even having great success reading while feeding, as holding the book and the baby is trickier than you’d think when your wrists aren’t cooperating. However, I shall persevere with the books, and although it’s taken me six weeks of snatches (a very apt description given the book’s prostitution subject matter), I finally finished Kate Holden’s debut memoir In My Skin last night. I felt positively triumphant about it, too, an entirely excessive response that betrays nothing so much as the degree of difficulty I experienced doing it.

I’m woefully behind on all your blogs, and please accept my sincere apologies for my absence – I really have been wondering about every single one of you, and missing you, and looking forward to all the news. This is the most time I have had on my computer since the last time I posted – oh my god, what’s HAPPENED to me???!!!

Well, we all know the answer to that, and I am now in the throes of learning just how much a child compromises a woman’s creative freedom – at least temporarily. Let’s keep some perspective on this – Baby J is a mere 6 weeks old, and I am confident there will be time for writing down the track. But it’s already proven much harder than I expected to just find that hour a day to draft blog posts, let alone commit a single word to paper of a short story I’d like to write, much less attend to my atrophying manuscript… And here I am not even continuing with the birth story, merely lighting a flare to let you know I am still here. Please do bear with me – I will get the next instalment done just as soon as I can, and I will see if I can master the art of feeding Baby J at table, so that I might be able to read everyone’s blogs in the wee hours. Maybe that will work. We must find a way.

But in the meantime, I will just say this: he is worth it. He’s so absolutely worth it.

 

8 Comments

  1. davidrochester said,

    Amazing, isn’t it? 🙂 I’ve watched this twice with my friend Elissa, and believe me, juggling a new baby with anything else at all is pretty much impossible. It gets a bit easier, but they are a consuming task for the first three months or so … and then you get a little lull until they start crawling, and then it’s a downhill horror between crawling and walking, and the seventh circle of Hell between walking and being able to be communicated with (as in: “Don’t walk off the edge of that cliff!”). But yes, all worth it.

  2. Norwichrocks said,

    On the wrists problem, my friend who had twins last Feb had a similar issue – she now wears wrist support thingies (difficult to describe: tough elasticated material that velcros round the hand and wrist, a little like roller-blading gloves, to provide support) that she got via her doctor. So, don’t leave it too long – get ’em seen to!

    And I’m so glad to hear that you’re enjoying it all, even if the computer/writing/blog-reading is temporarily in abeyance.

  3. Pete said,

    Baby J sounds adorable! And who knew that ‘mother’s wrist’ existed? But I’m very glad to hear that everything is going well otherwise, and reading a whole book in the circumstances is still impressive. I’m sure the writing-time will pick up.

  4. litlove said,

    Sweetie, do not worry in the least! It’s impossible to get anything done with a newborn, absolutely impossible. And you should put everything you have left over into looking after yourself. Feeding babies can be draining. But delighted to know you are loving it. Of course you are. 🙂

  5. Charlotte said,

    Of course he is! The little darling. It’s a very intense and beautiful time for you, Llew and Baby J, so please put us at the bottom of your list of priorities. We’ll still be here listening and laughing and crying along when you have a good moment to write.

    Just so, so happy for you that all is well. Please consider this a huge big hug!

  6. Lilian Nattel said,

    I had no idea about the wrists. Lots of hugs and understanding from here. Time went slowly while mine were babies, but in retrospect it was a flash.

  7. Grad said,

    Mothers wrist? I’ve never heard of it either. I’ve heard of Mother’s Boob Flop. I’m not sure which I’d rather have, but since Boob Flop is not painful only…well…floppy, I guess I’m glad I had that instead. The downside is Boob Flop never goes away, and there’s no (shall we say) support for it other than an aerodynamically designed, industrial strength bra. But, my dear, you are right. He is not only worth it all, he always will be worth it all. When you are ready to come back to DoctorDi full throttle, we’ll be here. In the meantime, enjoy this time with your sweet little one and darling Llewie. (P.S. I have a letter sitting in the back seat of my car that’s been there for weeks and weeks. Was meant to come before Christmas. I keep missing the post office open times, but am determined this week!)

  8. Deb Rice said,

    So glad you managed a visit to your blog, no matter how brief. It does all get easier!

Leave a Reply

