In Brief

February 15, 2011 at 2:21 am (Uncategorized)

We’ve had a wee relapse here at Poo HQ… Baby J has been tormented by his digestive demons both yesterday and today, and I am writing this madly at the tail end of what I have christened the Morning Meanies. It seems to be his worst time (something he has in common with his mum…), but right now there’s a promising lull in the horrors, and so here I am. These episodes are plainly painful, overtaking him entirely. When it comes, the end is abrupt and total, much as though a cruel spirit has finally let him be, exactly like a possession– and right now he’s in his bouncer being rocked by my foot, lids heavy but resistance strong… he needs to sleep, and I need him to sleep too. We both need to fortify for the next bout of screaming. There he goes… drifting off… that’s the way, beautiful boy…

Weeks ago, I jotted down a list of things I didn’t want to forget to write about, but it occurs to me now I am most unlikely to get the opportunity any time soon. It’s a telling list, a story in its own right, so I’ve decided to just give it to you as I wrote it, as an insight into the first days of Baby J’s life all those weeks (nearly twelve of them, if you can believe it) ago.

Notes for Starting Life:

We need to give ourselves permission to admit things have changed.

Nipple grins

The bottle in Special Care

Bruises

Jaundice

Visitors

Air-con and ticking clock

Sleep deprivation

That’s wee in your eye

Meconium

Llew leaving

Time

The view outside my window

Bolting food

The Jamaican vacation

Night nursing

The mid-stay weigh in

Formula wars

What happened to N and A, the other couple in the share suite

Nurse C vs Nurse D

Nurse D and the unauthorised squeeze

Recovery

The trip home

The nursery

The sleeping arrangements

The projectile shit

Bed-wetting

Laundry on the line

Recognising your infant’s cry

Hallucinations

The generosity of others

That last one is especially worth lingering over, for this little guy has truly had the warmest welcome. It’s been sincerely humbling being on the receiving end of the tidal wave of good will attending his arrival. So many people have had a share in making his first twelve weeks one long celebration, despite the ups and downs of his early health, that we keep having to print off more photos for the thank you cards. I have hand-written over eighty at the last count. Now, my faith in people was never in any danger – I know way too many supremo human beings to ever waver on that front – but in the wake of Baby J’s reception, it has more than redoubled in strength. Colic? Reflux? Ha! They will be conquered, and despite them, he thrives.

And… he’s awake. And so it goes.

6 Comments

  1. Woo said,

    Good lord, that list is fascinating and horrifying in equal parts!

    Very sorry to hear the wee man is still struggling with his innards. May the digestive demons disperse with alacrity, leaving nothing but peace in their wake 🙂

  2. davidrochester said,

    Poor little fellow.

    I wish I could say I can’t imagine what you mean by projectile shit, but after Elissa’s colicky #2 baby, unfortunately I have only too good an idea. And oh God. God.

  3. litlove said,

    It probably seems a long way off, but once he reaches three months, those digestive problems really should ease off a lot. Poor little baby, and poor you, because withstanding endless screaming is HARD. Quite the hardest thing ever, in fact, even in the generally tough, unreasonably demanding, self-sacrificing-beyond-all-possible-imagining business of motherhood. Of course we’re here for you.

  4. Lilian Nattel said,

    What a list–I hope the little guy is fully recovered very soon.

  5. Lilian Nattel said,

    Llew leaving?

  6. Grad said,

    Those first few months are doozies, aren’t they? But the sun breaks through, my dear. I will be finishing something up, now that I know what name to put in, but it will probably take another month.

Leave a Reply

