Taking Refuge in Everyday Ills

March 15, 2011 at 1:07 am (Uncategorized)

I know this is going to sound a bit I, Robot, but sometimes I really think computers have a mean streak. Baby J can usually be prevailed upon to have one good sleep a day in the swinger, and whenever he does oblige, that reprieve is my prime writing and admin time. But yesterday when I sat down to quickly blurt a blog post while the little man was counting sheep (I thought the three unaccountably creepy creatures dangling from his swinger were three blind mice, but I’ve been soundly outvoted on this count), my laptop decided to fake its own death. I mean, come on, that’s just cruel.

Every time I rebooted (my technology cure-all), that message in five languages immediately appeared: you need to restart your computer. What, again? Surely not! Maybe I have mice on the brain because I am the lab experiment that never learns. After the umpteenth time (and I have no need to tear my hair out, it’s falling out unaided), I gave up, Baby J woke up, and there, my friends, lies the ruins of two precious hours.

I wasn’t able to do a damn thing about it until Llew got home, at which time I hopped on the phone to AppleCare, and Daniel, a true ‘wizard,’ talked me through an hour’s worth of software CPR. So far, so good. And for anyone out there weighing up whether or not to cough up for the extra tech support for their shiny new Apple anything, the answer is an emphatic YES. Do it. You’ll almost certainly live to regret it if you don’t. If you’re prepared to burn all those apple cores in the first place – and let’s face it, it’s quite a pile – then for Christ’s sake burn a few more to keep that fire going into the long good night. That’s all.

Anyway, none of this is of ANY account at all given the horrific situation in Japan. How utterly terrifying and tragic – it’s the stuff of nightmares, and truly an impossible reality to endure. I can’t watch any of it without tearing up. What I can and never will get over is how utterly… desultory the wave looks as it takes a few indifferent seconds to wipe out an entire fishing town. It looks so casual and half-hearted, barely committed at all, and yet it mows down everything in its path with a mesmerising constancy that would be calming were it not so catastrophic. Just the dread thought of it makes me want to draw Llew and Baby J close and never let them go.

 

2 Comments

  1. Lilian Nattel said,

    Yes, I’m watching it on the news right now.

  2. litlove said,

    I’m so glad you got your computer fixed okay. Grrr, hate technology. It so often screws up at just the wrong moment. The situation in Japan is so dreadful it’s unthinkable.

Leave a Reply

