So Far, So Good…

February 9, 2012 at 1:38 am (Uncategorized)

I’m just waiting to find out if Master J is happy to have his nap at J’s or whether I need to pop round and bring him home, but otherwise the maiden family daycare experience seems to be going well… I’ll find out more when I collect him, but he was certainly all smiles when two of the other children turned up at the same time as us this morning. I do think he grasps so much of what I tell him; when I explained what was happening… well, of course one can’t be sure when a child doesn’t actually speak, but what can I tell you? He really seemed to understand.

And how have I spent my time? Well, I’d made an arrangement to catch up with my writer friend L, and while it was good to have an uninterrupted conversation, I think this time to myself really needs to be that, or else I’ll never get anything done. But we talked shop for an hour, and that’s always useful anyway. I love talking about writing with L. She’s a sharp thinker and is great at no-nonsense pep talks. I always come away from our chats fizzing with renewed energy. So that was good. Then I went for a run and a swim – bliss – before settling down to go over another hacked off section of the MS. It’s about 2,000 words… not quite a functional standalone story at this stage, more a vignette… and I’m not entirely sure what to do with it. Currently it’s still lacking something. I did what I could in terms of finessing, but really the whole thing requires a bit more thought. And that’s okay.

Meanwhile the latest Varuna Alumni News is up. This month it’s a member interview with one of my dear Darklings, Jennifer Scoullar. Exciting times for Jenny, with her rural fiction Brumby’s Run slated for a July release through Penguin. Of course we Darklings are madly shaking our tail feathers with pride – it’s a truly fantastic experience to share and we’re counting down the days to the launch. Go, Jenny, go!

8 Comments

  1. Pete said,

    Here’s holding thumbs that Master J likes the daycare. Sounds promising. And so glad you got to run and swim and have a proper conversation about writing with a friend. Good luck with the revisions.

    • doctordi said,

      Thanks, Pete! Yes, it is really quite sanity-saving to have clawed some time back. Exercising one’s body and mind shouldn’t ever be a rare treat – and as a new parent it’s too easy to let it all slide just by virtue of total exhaustion.

  2. charlotteotter said,

    Glad to hear it’s going well. And well I know the temptation to seek out a friend when there is spare time at hand! It’s just such a relief to have a proper conversation.

    Congrats to Jennifer! May her novel fare very, very well.

    • doctordi said,

      By comparison, I took Master J downtown earlier in the week to see another friend for lunch, and she basically ate alone while watching me run after Master J the entire time. The most disjointed, unsatisfactory ‘catch-up’ I’ve probably ever had.

  3. litlove said,

    So glad to hear it’s going well, and completely agree – sometimes it’s best just to sit around and do nothing until you can remember who you are. There was a quote I read in a George Eliot novel the other day that I loved. ‘You have to know where to find yourself,’ the character said. And if you have free time now, it’s not a bad idea to go where you can find yourself again.

    • doctordi said,

      That’s a good quote, LL, and as always it’s interesting to see what one does when one is granted some time off. For me, it’s pretty straightforward: reading, writing and running. I am still very much feeling as though I have to have something to SHOW for the time apart, though – that it wouldn’t be all right with Llew or his parents or the world at large for me to just say, ‘Oh, I did nothing while Master J was at daycare. Nope. Not a thing.’ I may be putting that pressure on myself, but I feel it keenly all the same.

  4. Lilian Nattel said,

    It sounds like a fabulous combination of renewal activities. Energizing pep talks about writing especially!

  5. jenniferscoullar said,

    Thanks for your kind comments about my publishing adventure!

    Re family daycare. I used it many years ago with my first child Daniel. He went to Rhonda’s house from eighteen months old. It grew into a close and longlasting friendship between myself and the carer family. Daniel is all grown up now, but still maintains his connection with Rhonda and her children. May your association with family day care be as successful and time-freeing-up as mine was!

Leave a Reply

